What are you searching for?

Team GIGA

The institute’s organisational structure is shown in the organogram. There are currently over 90 highly qualified scholars conducting research at the GIGA. This includes several dozen young academics (Junior Research Fellows) that are beginning their research careers at the GIGA in either the GIGA Doctoral Programme or research projects.

The research carried out at the GIGA is supported by three main departments:

  • the GIGA Information Centre

  • the Publications and Communications Department

  • the Administration Department

The employees are organised via the works council, whose chairperson is Nina Waßmann.


GIGA Researchers

Contact
Expertise
Regions

Picture of Matthias Basedau

Prof. Dr. Matthias Basedau

Director of the GIGA Institute for African Affairs / Editor GIGA Focus Africa
T. +49 (0)40 - 428 25-517
matthias.basedau@giga-hamburg.de

Picture of Merike Blofield

Prof. Dr. Merike Blofield

Director of the GIGA Institute for Latin American Studies
T. +49 (0)40 - 428 25-560
merike.blofield@giga-hamburg.de

Picture of So Young Chang

So Young Chang

Research Fellow / Doctoral Student
soyoung.chang@giga-hamburg.de

Picture of Andrew Crawford

Andrew Crawford

Research Fellow / Doctoral Student
andrew.crawford@giga-hamburg.de

Portrait of Lukian De Boni

Lukian De Boni

Research Fellow / Doctoral Student
lukian.deboni@giga-hamburg.de

Picture of  Cornelis W. Haasnoot

Cornelis Haasnoot

Research Fellow / Doctoral Student
cornelis.haasnoot@giga-hamburg.de

Picture of Bert Hoffmann

Prof. Dr. Bert Hoffmann

Lead Research Fellow / Head GIGA Berlin Office Editor GIGA Focus Latin America
bert.hoffmann@giga-hamburg.de

Portrait of Dastan Jasim

Dastan Jasim

Research Fellow / Doctoral Student
Dastan.Jasim@giga-hamburg.de

Picture of Patrick Köllner

Prof. Dr. Patrick Köllner

Director of the GIGA Institute for Asian Studies / Vice President
T. +49 (0)40 - 42 88 74-17
patrick.koellner@giga-hamburg.de

Picture of David Kuehn

Dr. David Kuehn

Senior Research Fellow / Coordinator GIGA Forum
david.kuehn@giga-hamburg.de

Picture of Sabine Kurtenbach

Prof. Dr. Sabine Kurtenbach

Lead Research Fellow / General Editor GIGA Focus Editor GIGA Focus Global
T. +49 (0)40 - 428 25-570
sabine.kurtenbach@giga-hamburg.de

Picture of Tabea Lakemann

Tabea Lakemann

Research Fellow / Doctoral Student / Speaker Research Team
tabea.lakemann@giga-hamburg.de

Picture of Nils Lukacs

Nils Lukacs

Research Fellow / Doctoral Student

Picture of Medha

Medha

Research Fellow / Doctoral Student
medha@giga-hamburg.de

user default image

Anne Paschke

Research Fellow

Picture of Thomas Richter

Dr. Thomas Richter

Senior Research Fellow / Editor GIGA Focus Middle East
T. +49 (0)40 - 428 25-528
thomas.richter@giga-hamburg.de

Picture of Isabel Rosales Sandoval

Isabel Rosales

Research Fellow / Doctoral Student
isabel.rosales@giga-hamburg.de

Picture of Mona Saleh

Mona Saleh

Research Fellow / Doctoral Student
mona.saleh@giga-hamburg.de

user default image

Ana Soares

Research Fellow / Doctoral Student
ana.soares@giga-hamburg.de

Picture of Siri Völker

Siri Völker

Research Fellow / Doctoral Student / Research Data Management
T. +49 (0)40 - 428 25-526
siri.voelker@giga-hamburg.de

Picture of Iris Wieczorek

Dr. Iris Wieczorek

Senior Research Fellow / GIGA Representative in Japan
T. +81 (0)3 - 3470-7257 (Tokyo)
iris.wieczorek@giga-hamburg.de

Picture of Eckart Woertz

Prof. Dr. Eckart Woertz

Director of the GIGA Institute for Middle East Studies
T. +49 (0)40 - 428 25-504
eckart.woertz@giga-hamburg.de

Picture of Caspar Ziegler

Caspar Ziegler

Research Fellow / Doctoral Student
Caspar.Ziegler@giga-hamburg.de

Associates

Contact
Expertise
Regions

user default image

Dr. Bettina Bunk

Associate

Picture of Tobias Lenz

Prof. Dr. Tobias Lenz

Associate / Head of Leibniz Junior Research Group
tobias.lenz@giga-hamburg.de

user default image

Dr. Viola Lucas

Associate






Administration


Picture of Indi-Carolina Kryg

Indi-Carolina Kryg

Office of the President / Research Fellow Doctoral Student
T. +49 (0)40 - 428 25-501
indi-carolina.kryg@giga-hamburg.de

Diversity and Equal Opportunities

Diversity and equal opportunities are a central part of the GIGA's self-image as an independent, internationally oriented institution with a global approach to scholarship. With a clear commitment to diversity, seen as a cross-sectoral issue, we aim at promoting and valuing diversity at the institute and using the resulting potential fully.