Prof. Dr. Amrita Narlikar, D.Phil. (Oxon), Ph.D. (Cantab)

President
Neuer Jungfernstieg 21
20354 Hamburg
Germany
Fax +49 (0)40 - 428 25-547

Professor Narlikar is President of the German Institute for Global and Area Studies (GIGA) and Professor of International Relations at the University of Hamburg. She is also a non-resident Senior Fellow at the Observer Research Foundation (ORF).

Before joining the GIGA, Professor Narlikar was Reader in International Political Economy at the University of Cambridge and founding director there of the Centre for Rising Powers. She was a member of Darwin College, University of Cambridge. Professor Narlikar’s intellectual roots also lie with the University of Oxford, where she earned a Master’s degree in International Relations (M.Phil.) as well as her doctorate (D.Phil.). She was also the holder of a Junior Research Fellowship at St John's College, University of Oxford.

The great advantage of simultaneously being from both the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge is that you are very likely to emerge victorious from local derbies such as the prestigious annual Boat Race!

Professor Narlikar has published numerous books with renowned publishing houses, including Oxford University Press and Cambridge University Press. She has written five books, co-edited four more, and was guest editor of two special issues of academic journals. Her most recent book, Poverty Narratives in International Trade Negotiations and Beyond, has been published by Cambridge University Press. Professor Narlikar has published over 50 articles or chapters appearing in international journals and groundbreaking books to date. Her research focuses on world trade, emerging powers, and multilateralism. She also has a strong research interest in Indian foreign policy and economics, as well as in Sanskrit and in Indian philosophy. She regularly provides diverse media outlets with her expertise. Since May 2019 she writes “Globale Gedanken”, a column in national newspaper Der Tagesspiegel.

Tabs

Prof. Dr. Amrita Narlikar, D.Phil. (Oxon), Ph.D. (Cantab)

Präsidentin
Neuer Jungfernstieg 21
20354 Hamburg
Germany
Fax +49 (0)40 - 428 25-547

Prof. Narlikar ist die Präsidentin des German Institute for Global and Area Studies (GIGA) und Professorin für Internationale Beziehungen an der Universität Hamburg. Sie ist außerdem Non-Resident Senior Fellow der Observer Research Foundation (ORF).

Bevor Prof. Narlikar zum GIGA kam, war sie als Reader für Internationale Politische Ökonomie an der Universität Cambridge tätig und Gründungsdirektorin des Centre for Rising Powers. Sie war Mitglied des Darwin College in Cambridge. Prof. Narlikars intellektuelle Wurzeln liegen auch an der Universität Oxford, wo sie den Master in Internationale Beziehungen (M.Phil.) und ihren Doktortitel (D.Phil) erworben hat. Darüber hinaus war sie Inhaberin eines Junior Research Fellowship beim St John’s College in Oxford.

Der große Vorteil, gleichzeitig aus Oxford und Cambridge zu sein, ist, dass man mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit aus Lokalderbys wie dem renommierten Oxbridge-Bootsrennen siegreich hervorgeht.

Prof. Narlikar veröffentlichte zahlreiche Bücher in renommierten Verlagen, darunter Oxford University Press und Cambridge University Press. Sie hat fünf Bücher verfasst, vier Bücher mitherausgegeben und war Gastherausgeberin zweier Sonderausgaben von Fachzeitschriften. Ihr neustes Buch, Poverty Narratives in International Trade Negotiations, ist bei Cambridge University Press erschienen. Prof. Narlikar hat über 50 Artikel oder Kapitel in internationalen Fachzeitschriften und richtungweisenden Büchern publiziert. Ihr Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt in den Bereichen Welthandel, aufstrebende Mächte und Multilateralismus. Des Weiteren verfolgt sie ein starkes Forschungsinteresse zur Außenpolitik und Wirtschaft Indiens, zu Sanskrit und indischer Philosophie. Sie stellt ihre Expertise regelmäßig den Medien zur Verfügung. Seit Mai 2019 schreibt sie "Globale Gedanken", eine Kolumne in Der Tagesspiegel.

Tabs