The field of comparative regional research (comparative area studies, CAS) has experienced a rapid development in recent years. Scholars have left the beaten track of their own discipline and established international networks. The goal? To gain new insights through comparison – for example, into the legitimacy of authoritarian regimes, the impact of economic crises or the causes of violent conflicts. The premise? The combination of regional expertise and theory.

The GIGA recognised the potential of this still-young field of study many years ago. As one of Europe’s leading research centres for comparative area studies, the GIGA has established itself as a centre of scientific excellence and given CAS a home.

Idea

What are comparative area studies? How does the GIGA approach the research topics? An Overview.
more

Award

Every other year the GIGA gives out an award for the best journal article in comparative area studies.
more

Events

In the CAS Lecture Series, renowned scholars address concepts, methods and challenges in the field of comparative regional research.
more

Networks

The GIGA coordinates three global research networks that operate across regions and disciplines. The Institutions of Sustainable Peace (ISP) organises and promotes research on institutions that serve to prevent and manage conflict. The Regional Powers Network (RPN) explores the rise of new regional powers in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Middle East and the research network International Diffusion and Cooperation of Authoritarian Regimes (IDCAR) investigates in what ways autocracies in all world regions cooperate with each other.

Das Feld der vergleichenden Regionalforschung (Comparative Area Studies, CAS) hat in den vergangenen Jahren eine rasante Entwicklung erlebt. WissenschaftlerInnen haben die ausgetretenen Pfade ihrer eigenen Disziplin verlassen und internationale Netzwerke geknüpft. Das Ziel: Durch den Vergleich neue Erkenntnisse gewinnen – zum Beispiel über die Legitimation autoritärer Regime, die Auswirkungen von Wirtschaftskrisen oder Ursachen gewaltsamer Konflikte. Die Voraussetzung: Die Verbindung von Regionalexpertise und Theorie.

Das GIGA hat bereits vor Jahren die Chancen dieses noch jungen Feldes der Wissenschaft erkannt. Als eine der europaweit führenden Forschungseinrichtungen für Comparative Area Studies hat sich das Institut als Zentrum wissenschaftlicher Exzellenz etabliert und den CAS ein Zuhause gegeben.

Idee

Was sind Comparative Area Studies? Wie geht das GIGA an die Forschungsthemen heran? Ein Überblick.
mehr

Award

Das GIGA vergibt alle zwei Jahre einen Preis für den besten Zeitschriftenartikel im Bereich der Comparative Area Studies.
mehr

Veranstaltungen

Renommierte WissenschaftlerInnnen berichten in den CAS Lecture Series über Konzepte, Methoden und Herausforderungen im Feld der vergleichenden Regionalforschung.
mehr

Netzwerke

Das GIGA koordiniert drei weltweite Forschungsnetzwerke, die regionen- und disziplinübergreifend arbeiten. Das Netzwerk Institutions of Sustainable Peace (ISP) ordnet und fördert die Forschung zu Institutionen, die der Konfliktprävention und –bearbeitung dienen. Das Regional Powers Network (RPN) erforscht den Aufstieg neuer regionaler Mächte in Afrika, Asien, Lateinamerika und Nahost und das Forschungsnetzwerk International Diffusion and Cooperation of Authoritarian Regimes (IDCAR) untersucht, wie Autokratien weltweit miteinander kooperieren.

Veranstaltungen

Vortrag | 14.07.2015
14.07.2015 | Hamburg
Workshop | 10.03.2014
10.03.2014 | Hamburg