The GIGA carries out research on four world regions and four key themes. All scholars are assigned to a regional institute and participate in at least one research programme – hence the GIGA’s special research matrix.

The GIGA is represented at three different sites. The majority of the institute’s employees are based at Neuer Jungfernstieg in the heart of Hamburg. The GIGA Institute of Asian Studies is located on Rothenbaumchaussee, near the University of Hamburg. Since 2009, the GIGA has also maintained a presence in the capital with its Berlin office.

Management

The GIGA is headed by the president, who is assisted by the executive board. The research council develops the institute’s research direction.

The GIGA management is advised and monitored by external committees (the board of trustees, the academic advisory board, the council for financial affairs), whose members represent academia, politics and business.

Management responsibilities are comprehensively defined in the GIGA’s charter.

Employees

The institute’s organisational structure is shown in the organogram. There are currently over 90 highly qualified scholars conducting research at the GIGA. This includes several dozen young academics (Junior Research Fellows) that are beginning their research careers at the GIGA in either the GIGA Doctoral Programme or research projects.

The research carried out at the GIGA is supported by three main departments:

  • the GIGA Information Centre
  • the Publications and Communications Department
  • the Administration Department

The employees are organised via the works council, whose chairperson is Pia Kleis.

Gender equality is one of the GIGA’s principles and is enshrined in the institute’s charter. Every four years, employees elect an equal opportunities commissioner. Currently, Maren Wagner occupies this office; her deputy is Kerstin Nolte.

Documents

The GIGA research strategy is described in the research plan. The GIGA publishes its comprehensive annual report detailing its work. The programme budget is used to steer the entire institute and the integrated planning of the research, service, consultation, and management teams.

Leibniz Association

The GIGA is a member of the Leibniz Association – a network of 91 independent German research institutes from various disciplines, which is engaged in knowledge- and application-oriented fundamental research. The Leibniz Institute has approximately 18,600 employees (including 9,500 scholars) and a total budget of 1.7 billion euros.

Files

Organisational Chart (PDF)

Charter (PDF)

Cover Annual Report 2016 Annual Report 2016 (PDF, 4 MB, Englisch)






AKTUELLER FORSCHUNGSPLAN Research Plan 2016 (PDF, 4.1 MB, English)

Das GIGA forscht zu vier Weltregionen und zu vier thematischen Schwerpunkten. Alle WissenschaftlerInnen sind in einem Regionalinstitut verortet und gehören mindestens einem Forschungsschwerpunkt an. Daraus ergibt sich eine Forschungsstruktur, die einer Matrix gleicht.

Das Institut ist an drei Standorten vertreten. Der Großteil der MitarbeiterInnen arbeitet am Neuen Jungfernstieg im Herzen von Hamburg. Das GIGA Institut für Asien-Studien hat seine Räumlichkeiten unweit der Universität Hamburg an der Rothenbaumchaussee. Seit dem Jahr 2009 ist das GIGA zudem mit dem Berlin Büro in der Hauptstadt präsent.

Leitung

Geleitet wird das Institut von der Präsidentin. Sie wird vom Vorstand unterstützt. Die wissenschaftliche Ausrichtung entwickelt der Forschungsrat.

Die externen Gremien – Kuratorium, Wissenschaftlicher Beirat, Finanzbeirat – beraten und kontrollieren die Institutsleitung des GIGA. Die Mitglieder sind VertreterInnen aus der Wissenschaft, Politik und Wirtschaft.

Die Zuständigkeiten sind in der Satzung des GIGA umfassend definiert.

MitarbeiterInnen

Die Arbeitsteilung wird im Organigramm abgebildet. Derzeit forschen am GIGA über 90 hoch qualifizierte WissenschaftlerInnen. Dazu zählen auch mehrere Dutzend NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen (Junior Research Fellows), die im Doktorandenprogramm oder in Forschungsprojekten ihre wissenschaftliche Laufbahn am GIGA beginnen.

Die wissenschaftliche Arbeit am GIGA wird von drei zentralen Fachabteilungen gestützt:

  • GIGA Informationszentrum
  • Publikationen und Kommunikation
  • Verwaltung

Die MitarbeiterInnen sind über einen Betriebsrat organisiert. Vorsitzende ist Pia Kleis.

Die Gleichstellung von Männern und Frauen gehört zu den Grundsätzen des GIGA. Sie ist in der Satzung verankert. Alle vier Jahre wählen die Mitarbeiterinnen eine Gleichstellungsbeauftragte. Derzeit füllt Maren Wagner dieses Amt aus. Ihre Stellvertreterin ist Kerstin Nolte.

Berichte und Dokumente

Das Forschungsprogramm des GIGA wird im Forschungsplan beschrieben. Über die Arbeit des GIGA informiert jährlich ein umfassender Jahresbericht. Das Programmbudget dient der Steuerung des gesamten Instituts und der integrierten Planung von Forschungs-, Service- und Beratungsleistungen. Zu den öffentlichen Dokumenten

Leibniz-Gemeinschaft

Das GIGA ist Mitglied der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft. Die Organisation ist ein Zusammenschluss deutscher Forschungsinstitute. Sie verbindet 91 selbstständige Einrichtungen unterschiedlicher Fachrichtungen, die erkenntnis- und anwendungsorientierte Grundlagenforschung betreiben. Die Leibniz-Institute beschäftigen rund 18.600 Personen, darunter 9.500 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler. Der Gesamtetat der Institute liegt bei mehr als 1,7 Milliarden Euro.

Dateien

Forschungsmatrix/ Organigramm (PDF)

Satzung (PDF)

Cover Jahresbericht 2015 Jahresbericht 2015 (PDF, 5.9 MB, Englisch)





AKTUELLER FORSCHUNGSPLAN Forschungsplan 2016 (PDF, 4.1 MB, Englisch)