The GIGA German Institute of Global and Area Studies is a port of call for top researchers from all over the world. Based on our conviction that global challenges necessitate global answers, we are interested in intensive academic exchange with like-minded scholars. Such exchange provides both the GIGA and the visiting fellows with new impetus, valuable knowledge, and expanded perspectives for their research.

The visiting fellows value the institute’s interdisciplinary, pluralistic approach, which is evident in its research, in the distribution of its findings, and in its internal structures. Like the GIGA researchers, the visiting fellows are integrated into one of the four regional institutes and at least one research programme. The length of guest stays ranges from one week to several years.

Many internationally recognised top scholars have spent time as visiting fellows at the GIGA in the course of their careers and have published in influential expert journals as a result of the insights they have gained. Their research includes topics such as security policy in Latin America, social protests in China, the crises in the Middle East, and the role of increasing populism in international relations.

Scholarship recipients from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, the German Academic Exchange Service, and other renowned organisations choose the GIGA as the host facility for their research projects. According to the current Humboldt Ranking, we place in the top quarter of all non-university research institutions. The GIGA provides institutional support for such funding applications.

The GIGA is among the winners of the Humboldt competition on Research Alumni Strategies. The competition is a part of the „Research in Germany Initiative".
Further information.

Current Visiting Fellows

-
Funded by Konrad Adenauer Foundation
-
Funded by Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
-
Funded by Self financier
-
Funded by DAAD
-
Funded by Thyssen Fellowship
-
Funded by Self-financier

Das GIGA German Institute of Global and Area Studies ist eine Anlaufstelle für Forscher aus aller Welt. Globale Herausforderungen brauchen globale Lösungen – aus dieser Überzeugung heraus sind wir am intensiven akademischen Austausch mit gleichgesinnten Wissenschaftlern interessiert. Dadurch erhalten die Gastwissenschaftler und GIGA-Forscher neue Impulse, wertvolles Wissen und erweiterte Perspektiven für ihre Arbeit.

Die Gastwissenschaftler schätzen den interdisziplinären, pluralistischen Ansatz des Instituts, der sich von der Forschung über die Verbreitung der Erkenntnisse bis zu den internen Strukturen erstreckt. Genau wie Ihre GIGA-Kollegen sind GIGA Gastwissenschaftler einem Regionalinstitut und mindestens einem Forschungsschwerpunkt zugeordnet. Die Dauer des Aufenthalts beträgt von einer Woche bis zu mehreren Jahren.

Viele international anerkannte Spitzenforscher blicken auf einen Aufenthalt als Gastwissenschaftler am GIGA zurück und haben aus den gewonnenen Einsichten resultierend in einflussreichen wissenschaftlichen Journals veröffentlicht. Ihre Forschung widmet sich zum Beispiel Themen wie der Sicherheitspolitik in Lateinamerika, sozialen Protesten in China, Krisen in Nahost und der Bedeutung von wachsendem Populismus in internationalen Beziehungen.

Stipendiaten der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung, des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdiensts und anderer anerkannter Organisationen wählen das GIGA als Basis für ihre Forschungsprojekte. Laut aktuellem Humboldt-Ranking bewegt sich das GIGA im oberen Viertel aller nichtuniversitärer Forschungseinrichtungen. Das GIGA leistet institutionelle Unterstützung bei der Beantragung entsprechender Mittel.

Das GIGA zählt zu den Preisträgern des Wettbewerbs für Alumni-Strategien der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung. Der Wettbewerb ist Teil der Initiative „Research in Germany". Weitere Informationen.

Aktuelle Visiting Fellows

-
Funded by Konrad Adenauer Foundation
-
Funded by Self financier
-
-
Funded by Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
-
Funded by DAAD
-
Funded by GIGA Fellowship for Research on India