Spotlights

In the Spotlights we take a close look at a topical issue each time. We offer pointers to GIGA experts, background analyses and studies, research projects, as well as relevant media reports and events.

If you cannot find what you are looking for, please contact the communications team via presse@giga-hamburg.de at any time.

Spotlight

Brazil was once regarded as an up-and-coming creative power, but in recent years the country has fallen into serious crisis. How have corruption scandals and election campaigns by right-wing politicians changed Brazil? What influence will the country have on the continent in future?

Spotlight

The BRICS countries Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa face great challenges. Despite their different – sometimes even contradictory – interests, the group continues to seek political and economic exchange.

Spotlight

China is undergoing rapid economic and social change. The People‘s Republic is striving for greater influence on the world stage. What are the ensuing opportunities and risks?

Spotlight

Around 70 million people are currently fleeing around the world – a saddening fact. The focus here is on questions relating to flight and migration, and the background to the crises in the regions of origin.

Spotlight

Significant growth figures, a burgeoning middle class, as well as successes in the service and IT sectors make the nuclear power a global player, and an emerging world power. The country is also a regional leader in both South Asia and beyond.

Spotlight

Conflicts have shaped the Middle East for many years. In the past, Israel and Palestine were most prominent. Now intense conflicts are dominating Syria, Libya, and Yemen. More than ever, enabling peaceful change is a key challenge facing influential states within and outside the region.

Spotlight

Following the Arab Spring, Tunisia is on its way to democracy, Egypt has become a military state once more, while Saudi Arabia remains an authoritarian monarchy. What are the different political developments occurring? How do new forms of political legitimacy work?

Spotlight

As the United States increasingly loses influence, emerging powers such as China and India are becoming more self-confident. What does this mean for German foreign policy? What is Germany‘s role in a newly defined world?

Spotlights

In den Spotlights nehmen wir jeweils ein aktuelles Thema unter die Lupe. Wir bieten Hinweise auf Expert*innen des GIGA, Hintergrundanalysen und Studien, Forschungsprojekte sowie relevante Medienbeiträge und Veranstaltungen.

Wenn Sie nicht fündig werden, wenden Sie sich jederzeit an das Kommunikationsteam unter presse@giga-hamburg.de.

Spotlight

Brasilien galt als aufstrebende Gestaltungsmacht, doch in den vergangenen Jahren geriet das Land in eine folgenschwere Krise. Wie haben Korruptionsskandale und Wahlkampagnen rechter Politiker Brasilien verändert? Welchen Einfluss wird Brasilien zukünftig auf dem Kontinent haben?

Spotlight

Die BRICS-Staaten Brasilien, Russland, Indien, China und Südafrika stehen vor großen Herausforderungen. Trotz unterschiedlichen, teils widersprüchlichen Interessen sucht die Gruppe weiterhin den politischen und wirtschaftlichen Austausch.

Spotlight

China durchläuft einen rasanten wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Wandel. Die Volksrepublik strebt nach mehr Einfluss auf der Weltbühne. Welche Chancen und Risiken ergeben sich daraus?

Spotlight

Rund 70 Millionen Menschen sind derzeit weltweit auf der Flucht – ein trauriger Rekord. Hier stehen Fragen rund um Flucht und Migration und die Hintergründe der Krisen in den Herkunftsregionen im Mittelpunkt.

Spotlight

Beachtliche Wachstumszahlen, eine wachsende Mittelschicht sowie Erfolge im Dienstleistungs- und IT-Sektor machen die Atommacht zum Global Player und zur aufstrebenden Weltmacht. Auch regional übernimmt das Land eine Führungsrolle in Südasien und darüber hinaus.

Spotlight

Nach dem Arabischen Frühling ist Tunesien auf dem Weg zur Demokratie, Ägypten wurde wieder Militärstaat, Saudi-Arabien blieb autoritäre Monarchie. Welche unterschiedlichen politischen Entwicklungen gibt es? Wie funktionieren neue Formen politischer Legitimierung?

Spotlight

Schon seit vielen Jahren prägen Konflikte den Nahen Osten. In der Vergangenheit standen Israel und Palästina im Vordergrund, derzeit beherrschen schwere Auseinandersetzungen Syrien, Libyen und Jemen. Friedlichen Wandel zu ermöglichen, ist mehr denn je eine zentrale Herausforderung für einflussreiche Staaten inner- und außerhalb der Region.

Spotlight

Während die USA zunehmend an Einfluss verlieren, werden aufstrebende Mächte wie China oder Indien selbstbewusster. Was bedeutet das für die deutsche Außenpolitik? Was ist Deutschlands Rolle in einer neu vermessenen Welt?