Supervisors

The GIGA is a non-university research institute. It cannot award the doctoral degree but cooperates closely with different universities. Our doctoral students enrol at the university that their first supervisor is affiliated with. Each university has its own doctoral degree regulations, which determine the admission requirements, course of study, and graduation procedure.

GIGA Supervisors

Kontakt Area of Expertise
  • Resources conflicts
  • Religion and violent conflict
  • Civil-military relations
  • Political institutions
  • Systemic Comparisons of Hybrid Regimes in Africa

Prof. Dr. Henner Fürtig

Direktor des GIGA Institut für Nahost-Studien
Redaktion GIGA Focus Nahost
henner.fuertig@giga-hamburg.de
  • Domestic and foreign policy
  • social and political Transformation
  • democratisation
  • programs and structures of political Islam
  • International productivity differences
  • global transitions
  • Agriculture and development
  • technology and industrial Promotion
  • development theories
  • environmental problems, health

Prof. Dr. Bert Hoffmann

Leitung GIGA Berlin Büro
Senior Research Fellow
bert.hoffmann@giga-hamburg.de
  • Head of the GIGA Berlin Office
  • Transnational migration and diaspora policies
  • EU-Latin America Relations
  • Cuba's Transformation: Crisis, Continuity and Change in Socialist Cuba

Prof. Dr. Heike Holbig

Senior Research Fellow
Redaktion GIGA Focus Asien
heike.holbig@giga-hamburg.de
  • The politics of the People‘s Republic of China
  • Comparative research into authoritarianism
  • Asia-related area studies
  • International Relations
  • Comparative Regionalism
  • Transitional Justice

Prof. Dr. Robert Kappel

Senior Research Fellow
Redaktion GIGA Focus Afrika
robert.kappel@giga-hamburg.de
  • African economic development
  • enterprise development
  • value chains
  • industry
  • BRICS
  • global power shifts

Prof. Dr. Patrick Köllner

Vizepräsident
Direktor des GIGA Institut für Asien-Studien
patrick.koellner@giga-hamburg.de
  • Formal and informal institutions
  • Political parties and organizations

Apl. Prof. Dr. Jann Lay

Komm. Direktor des GIGA Institut für Afrika-Studien
Leitung FSP 3
jann.lay@giga-hamburg.de
  • Economy
  • development
  • International and regional governmental organizations in comparative perspective
  • EU in global regionalism
  • Diffusion theories
  • Power-sharing after peace agreements
  • Violent conflicts and conflict prevention
  • State and statehood
  • democratization processes
  • German and French Africa policy

Prof. Dr. Detlef Nolte

Direktor des GIGA Institut für Lateinamerika-Studien
Redaktion GIGA Focus Lateinamerika
detlef.nolte@giga-hamburg.de
  • Forms of government
  • developmental cooperation
  • EU-USA-LA relations
  • Democratization
  • Islamization
  • political parties
  • weak states and political violence
  • regional integration

Current External Supervisors

Name and Contact Area of Expertise
Prof. Dr. Michael Brzoska
brzoska@ifsh.de

Arms control, arms trade, internal conflicts, security sector reforms

Prof. Dr. Anita Engels
engels@wiso.uni-hamburg.de

Globalization, environment and society

Prof. Dr. Cord Jakobeit
jakobeit@wiso.uni-hamburg.de

International relations, regional powers

Prof. Dr. Dirk Nabers
nabers@frieden.uni-kiel.de

Peace and conflict studies

Prof. Dr. Julia Pauli
julia.pauli@uni-hamburg.de

Culture and Demography, Gender, Kinship, Transnationalism

Prof. Dr. Kai-Uwe Schnapp
schnapp@wiso.uni-hamburg.de

Quantitative Analysis, economics and politics of institutions

Prof. Antje Wiener, PhD AcSS
wiener@wiso.uni-hamburg.de

Global Governance, Global Constitutionalism