What are you searching for?

Dr. Christiane Fröhlich

Research Fellow

Short CV

  • Since 01/2018: Research Fellow at GIGA Institute of Middle East Studies

  • 10/2016 - 12/2017: Postdoc, Climate Change and Security, University of Hamburg, CliSAP / CEN, und Research Fellow, Institute for Peace Research and Security Policy at the University of Hamburg (IFSH)

  • 2016 - 2018: Scholarship holder in the Robert Bosch Fasttrack Programm

  • 04/2016 - 09/2016: Mercator-IPC Fellow, Istanbul Policy Center, Sabancı University, Istanbul, Turkey

  • 10/2015 - 03/2016: Visiting professor, International Security Policy and Conflict Studies, Helmut-Schmidt-University of the Federal Armed Forces, Hamburg, Germany

  • 04/2013 - 05/2013: Academic advisor for historical magazine GeoEPOCHE (Gruner+Jahr) for No. 61, The history of Israel

  • 02/2013 - 09/2015: Self-employed peace and conflict researcher. Among others fellow at the centre for democracy and peace research at Osnabrück University as well as teaching engagements at German and international universities. 02/2013-09/2015 Postdoc at the Institute for Peace Studies and Security Policy at Hamburg University (IFSH), focusing on climate change – security – migration with a regional focus on the Mediterranean as part of the DFG cluster of excellence „Climate System Analysis and Prediction“ (CliSAP) at Universität Hamburg. Coordinator of the working group Climate Change, Security Risks, and Violent Conflicts. From October 2014 until September 2015 also coordinator of the research cluster Changes in Global Power Structures and Norms at the IFSH

  • 2009 - 2011: Co-editor of annual German Peace Report

  • 04/2004 - 09/2011: Researcher for Peace Research at the Institute for Interdisciplinary Studies (FEST) in Heidelberg (FEST)

  • Education: English literature, language and culture, contemporary history and psychology at the Universities of Hamburg and Warwick (UK); Peace Research and Security Policy at the Institute for Peace Research and Security Policy at Hamburg University (IFSH); dissertation about the Israeli-Palestinian water conflict at Philipps-University Marburg (2009)


Current Research

  • Human Mobility in the context of political and/or environmental crises

  • North-South divide and its role for human mobility

  • Resource scarcity and its role in violent conflict, esp. water conflicts

  • Post/decolonial and poststructuralist approaches in peace and conflict studies


Countries and Regions

  • Syria

  • Israel/Palestine

  • Jordan

  • Turkey


Research Programme

Wonach suchen Sie?

Dr. Christiane Fröhlich

Research Fellow

Kurzer Lebenslauf

  • Seit 01/2018: Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am GIGA Institut für Nahost-Studien

  • 10/2016 - 12/2017: Postdoc, Climate Change and Security, Universität Hamburg, CliSAP / CEN, und Research Fellow, Institut für Friedensforschung und Sicherheitspolitik an der Universität Hamburg (IFSH)

  • 2016 - 2018: Stipendiatin im Robert Bosch Fasttrack Programm

  • 04/2016 - 09/2016: Mercator-IPC Fellow, Istanbul Policy Center, Sabancı Universität, Istanbul, Türkei

  • 10/2015 - 03/2016: Vertretung der Professur für Internationale Sicherheitspolitik und Konfliktforschung, Helmut-Schmidt-Universität der Bundeswehr, Hamburg

  • 04/2013 - 05/2013: Wissenschaftliche Fachberaterin für GeoEPOCHE (Gruner+Jahr) für Heft 61, Die Geschichte Israels

  • 02/2013 - 09/2015: Postdoc am Institut für Friedensforschung und Sicherheitspolitik an der Universität Hamburg (IFSH). Forschung zum Nexus Klimawandel – Sicherheit – Migration, regionaler Schwerpunkt Mittelmeerraum, im Rahmen des DFG-Exzellenzcluster Climate System Analysis and Prediction (CliSAP) an der Universität Hamburg. Koordinatorin der Arbeitsgruppe Klimawandel, Sicherheitsrisiken und gewalttägige Konflikte. Von Oktober 2014 bis September 2015 außerdem Koordinatorin des Forschungsclusters Veränderung globaler Machtstrukturen und Normen am Institut für Friedensforschung und Sicherheitspolitik an der Universität Hamburg (IFSH)

  • 10/2011 - 01/2013: Freie Friedens- und Konfliktforscherin. Unter anderem Fellow am Zentrum für Demokratie- und Friedensforschung der Universität Osnabrück sowie Lehraufträge an deutschen und internationalen Hochschulen

  • 2009 - 2011 Mitherausgeberin des Friedensgutachtens

  • 04/2004 - 09/2011: Referentin für Friedensforschung an der Forschungsstätte der ev. Studiengemeinschaft in Heidelberg (FEST)

  • Ausbildung: Englische Sprache, Literatur und Kultur, Neuere Geschichte und Psychologie an den Universitäten Hamburg und Warwick (UK); Friedensforschung und Sicherheitspolitik am Institut für Friedensforschung und Sicherheitspolitik an der Universität Hamburg (IFSH); Dissertation über den israelisch-palästinensischen Wasserkonflikt; Promotion zum Dr. phil. am Zentrum für Konfliktforschung der Philipps-Universität Marburg (2009)


Aktuelle Forschung

  • Fluchtursachenforschung, Zwangsmigration im Kontext politischer und ökologischer Krisen

  • Der Nord-Süd-Konflikt und seine Auswirkungen auf menschliche Mobilität

  • Ressourcenknappheit und ihre Rolle in Gewaltkonflikten, insbes. Wasserkonflikte.

  • Post/Dekoloniale und poststrukturalistische Ansätze der Friedens- und Konfliktforschung


Länder und Regionen

  • Syrien

  • Israel/Palästina

  • Jordanien

  • Türkei


Forschungsschwerpunkt

  • Frieden und Sicherheit


Projekte