Open Access

The concept of "open access" has empowered the GIGA to virtually eliminate the financial, technical, and legal barriers normally faced by many of those seeking to access the institute’s research findings. This publication strategy ensures that people all around the world have equal opportunity to keep up with scholarly advances.

It can often be difficult to gain access to information and knowledge, particularly for people in certain parts of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Middle East – the GIGA’s specific regions of focus. As a publicly financed social science research institute and member of the Leibniz Association, the GIGA feels especially obliged to adhere to the Leibniz motto of "theoria cum praxi." For the GIGA, scholarship is for the benefit and good of humanity. Therefore, the institute strives to make its research findings available as soon as possible, which is in keeping with the principles of open access.

As the main component of a DFG-funded pilot project, the GIGA began publishing its journals as open access in 2009, making all content freely available (www.giga-journal-family.org) – though readers can still subscribe to the print versions. The GIGA Focus series is also published open access by the institute.

Open-access publications have been shown to enjoy a high degree of visibility and broad levels of dissemination. The GIGA's Africa Spectrum, for example, is one of the 10 leading area studies journals in the world. When research findings are freely accessible, both users and scholars benefit.

The GIGA encourages its scholars to publish articles in accordance with the basic foundation of open access. This applies to both initial publication in open-access journals and subsequent publication on so-called document servers, where articles that have already appeared in traditional subscription-based journals are made freely accessible online.

The GIGA has drafted its own open access guidelines to anchor the principles of open access to the goals of the institute. To provide organisational and legal assistance to the institute’s scholars, the GIGA Information Centre (IZ) has established the Open Access Helpdesk. The IZ is also currently working towards digitising relevant research data to make it more easily accessible in the future.

In addition, the GIGA is an active participant in both the Open Access Working Group of the Leibniz Association and the Open Access Days organised by the web platform open-access.net. The GIGA Journal Family’s transition from a wholly subscription-based model to an inclusive, open-access design is considered a paragon within scholarly publication circles. In March 2014 Prof. Dr. Bert Hoffmann was invited by the German Research Foundation (DFG) to give a presentation on this successful transition at the "Sino-German Training Workshop on Open Access" in Beijing, China.

Open Access am GIGA

Open Access steht für den freien Zugang zu Forschungsergebnissen über das Internet – ohne finanzielle, technische oder gesetzliche Barrieren. Dies ermöglicht eine gleichberechtigte Teilhabe aller Menschen am wissenschaftlichen Fortschritt.

Besonders in Teilen der GIGA-Forschungsregionen Afrika, Asien, Lateinamerika und Nahost haben Menschen oft nur erschwerten Zugang zu Informationen und Wissen. Das GIGA als öffentlich finanziertes Forschungsinstitut und Mitglied der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft sieht sich daher stark dem Leibniz-Grundsatz "Theoria cum Praxi: Wissenschaft zum Wohl und Nutzen des Menschen" verpflichtet. Das GIGA ist bestrebt, Forschungsergebnisse möglichst zeitnah nach dem Open-Access-Prinzip zu veröffentlichen.

In einem von der DFG geförderten Modellvorhaben hat das GIGA seit 2009 seine wissenschaftlichen Journale in Open-Access-Publikationen überführt. Neben den per Abonnement zu beziehenden Print-Zeitschriften sind die Inhalte seitdem kostenlos online zugänglich (www.giga-journal-family.org). Auch die Analysen der GIGA-Focus-Reihen publiziert das Institut open access.

Open-Access-Veröffentlichungen erreichen nachweislich einen hohen Grad an Sichtbarkeit und Verbreitung. Das vom GIGA herausgegebene Africa Spectrum etwa steht weltweit unter den Top 10 der führenden Zeitschriften für Regionalstudien. Werden Forschungsergebnisse frei zugänglich publiziert, profitieren daher sowohl die NutzerInnen als auch die WissenschaftlerInnen selbst.

Das GIGA unterstützt seine ForscherInnen bei der Publikation ihrer wissenschaftlichen Beiträge nach dem Open-Access-Prinzip. Das gilt für die Erstveröffentlichung von Beiträgen in Open-Access-Zeitschriften wie auch für die Zweitveröffentlichung von Beiträgen auf sogenannten Dokumentenservern. Hier werden die in einer traditionellen Abonnementzeitschrift erschienenen Artikel nachträglich frei zugänglich gemacht.

Das GIGA hat eine hauseigene Open-Access-Leitlinie verabschiedet, um das Open-Access-Prinzip in seinen Zielen zu verankern. Zur organisatorischen und rechtlichen Unterstützung seiner WissenschaftlerInnen hat das GIGA Informationszentrum (IZ) einen Open-Access-Service aufgebaut. Auch erarbeitet das IZ derzeit ein Konzept, wie geeignete Forschungsdaten künftig zur weiteren Nutzung digital bereitgestellt werden können.

Darüber hinaus engagiert sich das GIGA im Arbeitskreis Open Access der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft und bei den Open-Access-Tagen der Plattform open-access.net. Der Übergang der GIGA Journal Family von einem ausschließlich kostenpflichtigen Abo-Modell hin zu Open-Access-Zeitschriften gilt innerhalb der wissenschaftlichen Verlagsbranche als vorbildhaft. Auf Einladung der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft präsentierte Prof. Dr. Bert Hoffmann im März 2014 das erfolgreiche Projekt auf dem "Sino-German Training Workshop on Open Access" in Peking.