Research Council

The research council advises on the institute’s research direction, discusses theme development and works out the research plan. It assists the executive board in research and personnel strategies.

The research council is composed of the president, the vice president, the directors of the regional institutes, the heads of the research programmes, the research manager and the academic director of the GIGA Doctoral Programme.

Name Responsibility
Prof. Dr. Amrita Narlikar President of the GIGA
Prof. Dr. Patrick Köllner Vice President of the GIGA, Director of IAS
Prof. Dr. Matthias Basedau Director of IAA
Prof. Dr. Merieke Blofield Director of ILAS
Prof. Dr. Eckart Woertz Director of IMES
Dr. Mariana Llanos Head of RP 1
Dr. Christian von Soest Head of RP 2
Apl. Prof. Dr. Jann Lay Head of RP 3
Dr. Miriam Prys Head of RP 4
Dr. Maren Wagner Academic Director of the GIGA Doctoral Programme
Sonja Bartsch Research Manager