Thematic Editions of the GIGA Focus Series

The various thematic editions of the GIGA Focus series discuss the specific global and regional expressions of an overarching issue. While they do not adopt a strictly comparative approach, they do show how certain phenomena change and travel across the world and within different historic and cultural contexts. They also reflect the GIGA’s approach of taking into account the philosophical traditions and historical experiences of all world regions.


  • The War in Ukraine and the Global South

    The Russian attack on Ukraine has met with strong international condemnation. But the outrage over the invasion, the sanctioning of Russia, and offering material and moral support to Ukraine are not universal trends. In particular, countries with close economic and military ties to Russia, such as China, India, and South Africa, abstained on the United Nations resolution; Brazil and Saudi Arabia declared themselves “neutral” meanwhile. Many countries also fear that international supply chains will once again be disrupted by the war and sanctions, and therewith the consequences for global food and energy security. This GIGA Focus series analyses the effects of and reactions to the war, as well as how it is perceived, in the societies of the Global South.

    GIGA Focus Middle East | 2/2022

    The Russian War against Ukraine: Middle East Food Security at Risk

    In the Middle East and North Africa, dependence on Ukraine and Russia for imports of wheat is among the highest globally at 50 per cent. As the war on Ukraine is disrupting the global food trade, it is also having deleterious effects on food security across much of the Arab world.

    Prof. Dr. Eckart Woertz

    Director of the GIGA Institute for Middle East Studies

    GIGA Focus Africa | 3/2022

    The Bigger Picture: Mali, Jihadism, and the Withdrawal of the West

    By the end of May 2022, the mandate for the German military mission in Mali will expire. The decision on an extension should be made against the backdrop of two trends in Africa: the spread of jihadist violence and the growing influence of non-Western external powers.

    Prof. Dr. Matthias Basedau

    Director of the GIGA Institute for African Affairs / Editor GIGA Focus Africa


    The Biden Presidency: Challenges and Opportunities for International Cooperation

    The inauguration of President Joe Biden on 20 January 2021 is the source of much hope around the world that the United States government will now return to international cooperation rather than continue putting “America First.” On his very first day in office, the new president already rejoined both the Paris Agreement and the World Health Organization. The GIGA Focus Thematic Editions 2021 will examine the key consequences of the change of administration in the United States for multilateralism and specific challenges in the Global South.

    GIGA Focus Asia | 6/2021

    Managing the Status Quo: Continuity and Change in the United States’ Taiwan Policy

    Many Taiwanese were concerned that US-Taiwan relations would worsen under President Biden. Contrary to these worries, in the first ten months in office, the Biden administration has repeatedly signalled the US’ continuing support. This GIGA Focus analyses the continuity and change in US Taiwan policy.

    Dr. David Kuehn

    Senior Research Fellow / Coordinator GIGA Forum

    GIGA Focus Global | 5/2021

    Joe Biden and a New Era of Multilateralism

    With the inauguration of Joe Biden, the USA once again extends hands to traditional partners and embraces the concept of strategic competition with Russia and China. The new president is thus ushering in a new era of multilateralism, states GIGA researcher Hannes Greve in GIGA Focus Global.

    Hannes Greve

    Doctoral Researcher


    Military and Militarisation

    The military and militarisation are making their way back into politics. The alliances being formed with civilian elites are different to before. In some cases, military officers past or present are assuming office in high government as well as threatening or suppressing the opposition and civil society. In times of social, political, and/or economic crisis, the military serves primarily to uphold the power of ruling elites. In other contexts, national elites are driving the militarisation of foreign policy. This thematic GIGA Focus series analyses the role of the military and the processes of militarisation in different regions of the world.

    GIGA Focus Middle East | 7/2020

    Egypt after the Arab Spring: A Legacy of No Advancement

    With the tenth anniversary of the Arab Spring uprising approaching, it has become clear that civil–military relations, infrastructure development, and population growth remain three interrelated challenges for Egypt that have persisted throughout the last decade. An Analysis.

    Hager Ali

    Doctoral Researcher

    GIGA Focus Global | 6/2020

    Material and Discursive Militarisation in Democracies

    Dr. David Kuehn

    Senior Research Fellow / Coordinator GIGA Forum

    Prof. Dr. Yagil Levy

    GIGA Focus Middle East | 6/2020

    The New Turkey and its Nascent Security Regime

    Dr. Hakkı Taş

    Research Fellow


    Shrinking Civic Spaces around the World

    Civil society has been facing increasing pressure around the world in recent years. The spaces for citizens and NGOs to assemble and campaign for rights and their interests have been shrinking globally, not only affecting actors in authoritarian regimes but also facilitating the emergence of authoritarian practices in formally democratic contexts. Against this background, the decisive question is “What shapes and maintains the global increase of civil society restrictions?” In this thematic GIGA Focus series authors employing different perspectives explore the dynamics of shrinking civic space and shed light on this worrying trend. At the GIGA, research on this phenomenon and related topics is carried out within Research Programme 1 “Accountability and Participation” and within the International Diffusion and Cooperation of Authoritarian Regimes - IDCAR-Network.

    GIGA Focus Global | 8/2021

    Sustaining Civic Space in Times of COVID-19: Global Trends

    Autocracies worldwide have exploited COVID-19 to curtail civil liberties. However, the health crisis and related socio-economic setbacks have also created needs-induced space, leading to a rise of civil society relief activism and protests. Read more in this GIGA Focus Global.

    GIGA Focus Middle East | 6/2018

    Shrinking Spaces of Humanitarian ­Protection

    More than six million people live as internally displaced persons in Syria, and over five million have fled abroad - most to Jordan, Lebanon and Turkey. In recent years, humanitarian protection for refugees in the main host countries of the Middle East seem to be shrinking.

    GIGA Focus Asia | 6/2018

    Civil Society Work in China: Trade-Offs and Opportunities for European NGOs

    Bertram Lang

    Formerly Associate

    Prof. Dr. Heike Holbig

    Senior Research Fellow / Editor GIGA Focus Asia


    Germany and the Multilateral Order

    Since January 2019, Germany has been a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council. This raises the question, on the one hand, of what challenges German foreign policy will face until the end of Germany’s membership in December 2020. On the other, it can be asked what opportunities multilateral actors have – if any – to influence conflicts around the world. Against this backdrop, this GIGA Focus series analyses various conflict situations in different world regions.

    GIGA Focus Latin America | 7/2019

    Latin America – Multilateralism without Multilateral Values

    Prof. Dr. Sabine Kurtenbach

    Lead Research Fellow / General Editor GIGA Focus Editor GIGA Focus Global


    The G20 amidst Globalisation

    The G20 countries represent approximately two-thirds of the world’s population, over 80 per cent of the world’s economic activity, and three-quarters of global trade. Against the backdrop of Germany’s G20 presidency in 2017, this thematic GIGA Focus series provides research-based analyses of the G20 as an institution, of its potential, and of central issues on the G20 agenda as seen from a regional perspective.

    GIGA Focus Global | 6/2017

    The G20 under Argentina's Presidency: Time to Deliver on the Hamburg Promises

    On 1 December 2017, Argentina took over the presidency of the G20 from the German government. This is the right time to briefly review the year of the G20 under a German presidency in troubled times. It is also a prudent time to look ahead and provide a preliminary assessment of the priorities set by Argentina.

    Prof. Dr. Jann Lay

    Lead Research Fellow / Head of Research Programme "Globalisation and Development"

    GIGA Focus Middle East | 3/2017

    Structural Reform in the Arab Gulf States – Limited Influence of the G20

    Dr. Thomas Richter

    Senior Research Fellow / Editor GIGA Focus Middle East

    GIGA Focus Latin America | 3/2017

    Latin America’s Fight against Corruption: The End of Impunity

    Prof. Dr. Sabine Kurtenbach

    Lead Research Fellow / General Editor GIGA Focus Editor GIGA Focus Global


    Flight and Migration

    Across the world, 65 million people are currently leaving their homes and crossing borders to seek asylum and protection. The number of people “on the move” internally is much higher, as migration has many causes and motivations. This thematic edition of the GIGA Focus series sheds light on the multiple aspects and experiences of flight and migration.


    A Pluralist Approach to Social Sciences

    Most approaches to solving real-world problems are based on the experiences of the industrialised Western world. Other experiences – if taken into account at all – are measured against this ideal type. This thematic edition of the GIGA Focus demonstrates the added value of including the ideas as well as the experiences of the Global South, with a specific focus on democracy and democratisation.

    GIGA Focus Middle East | 4/2016

    The Arab Spring: Misconceptions and Prospects

    Dr. Stephan Rosiny

    Formerly Research Fellow

    Dr. Thomas Richter

    Senior Research Fellow / Editor GIGA Focus Middle East

    GIGA Focus Africa | 4/2016

    External Intervention to Strengthen Democracy in Africa

    Dr. Christian von Soest

    Lead Research Fellow / Head of Research Programme "Peace and Security"

    Fabian Bohnenberger

    Formerly Associate

    GIGA Focus Asia | 2/2016

    "He who says C must say D" — China’s Attempt to Become the "World’s Largest Democracy"

    Prof. Dr. Heike Holbig

    Senior Research Fellow / Editor GIGA Focus Asia

    Günter Schucher

    Formerly Senior Research Fellow

    Notification

    Sign up to receive email notifications about GIGA activities

    Social Media

    Follow us

GIGA-Focus-Themenreihen

Die Themenreihen des GIGA Focus widmen sich einem bestimmten Untersuchungsgegenstand in seinen globalen und regionalen Ausprägungen. Obwohl hier nicht zwangsläufig ein rein komparativer Ansatz angewendet wird, zeigen die Themenreihen, wie sich ein bestimmtes Phänomen über die Welt bewegt und sich innerhalb verschiedener historischer und kultureller Zusammenhänge verändert. Die Focus-Themenreihen spiegeln den Ansatz des GIGA wider, die philosophischen Traditionen und historischen Erfahrungen verschiedener Weltregionen einzubeziehen.


  • Die vielfältigen Herausforderungen durch den Klimawandel

    Die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels können auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen und bei verschiedenen Themenfeldern beobachtet und analysiert werden. Die GIGA-Focus-Themenreihe analysiert globale Kooperation und Konflikte im Umfeld der Klimakrise, die Rolle Brasiliens und des Amazonas, die Herausforderungen der nächsten Klimakonferenz in Ägypten sowie die Beziehung zwischen Klimawandel und geopolitischen Veränderungen von Migration.

    GIGA Focus Asien | 4/2022

    Competition and Cooperation: India and China in the Global Climate Regime

    Der Klimawandel erfordert die Kooperation aller großen Wirtschaftsmächte. Wachsende Spannungen zwischen Indien und China beeinflussen das globale Klimaregime. In einer zunehmend multipolaren Weltordnung ist eine solche Gleichzeitigkeit von Kooperation und Konflikt unvermeidbar.

    Dr. Miriam Prys-Hansen

    Lead Research Fellow / Leitung Forschungsschwerpunkt "Globale Ordnungen und Außenpolitiken"

    GIGA Focus Lateinamerika | 6/2021

    "Brasilien muss wieder da sein!" – Aber effektiver Klimaschutz ist erst nach Bolsonaro möglich

    Brasiliens Beitrag zum internationalen Klimaschutz ist dringend notwendig, doch während der Präsidentschaft Bolsonaros stiegen die Treibhausgasemissionen, die Regierung unterstützte die Agrarindustrie und unterdrückte Aktivisten. Eine Trendwende ist nur mit einem Präsidentschaftswechsel möglich. Eine Analyse.

    Anna Fünfgeld

    Doctoral Researcher


    Der Krieg in der Ukraine und der Globale Süden

    Der russische Angriff auf die Ukraine wird international scharf verurteilt. Doch die Empörung über die russische Invasion, die Sanktionierung Russlands sowie die materielle und moralische Unterstützung der Ukraine werden nicht von allen Staaten geteilt. Vor allem Länder mit engen militärischen und wirtschaftlichen Verbindungen zu Russland wie China, Indien und Südafrika enthielten sich bei der UN-Resolution, Brasilien und Saudi-Arabien erklärten sich für „neutral“. Auch fürchten viele Länder, dass abermals internationale Lieferketten durch den Krieg und die Sanktionen unterbrochen werden und die damit verbundenen Folgen für die weltweite Ernährungs- und Energiesicherheit. Diese GIGA-Focus-Themenreihe analysiert die Auswirkungen und Reaktionen auf den Krieg sowie dessen Wahrnehmung in den Gesellschaften des Globalen Südens.

    GIGA Focus Lateinamerika | 2/2022

    The War in Ukraine and Latin America: Reluctant Support

    Der Ukraine-Krieg hat die Spaltungen in Lateinamerika verdeutlicht. Die russische Invasion bricht das Völkerrecht, doch erscheint der Konflikt weit weg. Er belebt aber die Ablehnung der Politik der USA. Folglich unterstützen viele Regierungen der Region die Anti-Putin-Politik des Westens nur zögerlich.

    GIGA Focus Asien | 3/2022

    How to Make China Help Bring the War in Ukraine to an End

    Der Ukraine-Krieg stellt China vor ein Problem. Trotz Interesse an De-Eskalation verbietet es die strategische Rivalität mit den USA China, Russland fallen zu lassen. Um China dennoch dazu zu bewegen, Russland von einer Beendigung des Krieges zu überzeugen, müsste Europa China ein Angebot machen.

    GIGA Focus Nahost | 2/2022

    The Russian War against Ukraine: Middle East Food Security at Risk

    In Nordafrika und dem Nahen Osten ist die Abhängigkeit von Weizen aus der Ukraine und Russland mit 50 Prozent weltweit mit am höchsten. Da der Krieg in der Ukraine den globalen Lebensmittelhandel beeinträchtigt, existieren negative Folgen für die Ernährungssicherheit in weiten Teilen der arabischen Welt.

    Prof. Dr. Eckart Woertz

    Direktor des GIGA Instituts für Nahost-Studien


    Die Biden-Präsidentschaft: Herausforderungen und Chancen für die internationale Zusammenarbeit

    Die Amtseinführung von Präsident Joe Biden am 20. Januar 2021 ist weltweit mit vielen Hoffnungen verbunden, dass die US-Politik sich wieder für internationale Kooperation statt für „America First“ engagiert. Schon am ersten Amtstag führte der Präsident die USA zurück in das Pariser Klimaschutzabkommen und die Weltgesundheitsorganisation. Die GIGA-Focus-Themenreihe 2021 beleuchtet zentrale Konsequenzen des Regierungswechsels in den USA für den Multilateralismus und spezifische Problemlagen im Globalen Süden.

    GIGA Focus Asien | 6/2021

    Den Status quo managen: Kontinuität und Wandel in der US-Politik zu Taiwan

    Viele Taiwaner waren besorgt, dass sich die Beziehungen zwischen den USA und Taiwan unter Präsident Biden verschlechtern würden. Entgegen diesen Befürchtungen hat die Regierung Biden wiederholt signalisiert, dass sie Taiwan weiterhin unterstützt. Dieser GIGA Focus analysiert die Entwicklung der US-Taiwan-Politik.

    Dr. David Kuehn

    Senior Research Fellow / Koordinator GIGA Forum

    GIGA Focus Global | 5/2021

    Joe Biden und eine neue Ära des Multilateralismus

    Mit dem Amtsantritt von Joe Biden reichen die USA ihren traditionellen Partnern erneut die Hand und setzen auf das Konzept des strategischen Wettbewerbs mit Russland und China. Der neue Präsident läutet damit eine neue Ära des Multilateralismus ein, schreibt GIGA-Forscher Hannes Greve im GIGA Focus Global.

    Hannes Greve

    Research Fellow

    GIGA Focus Afrika | 2/2021

    Das Ende der Apathie: Die neue US-Afrikapolitik unter Joe Biden

    Der neue US-Präsident verspricht einen grundlegenden Wandel der amerikanischen Außenpolitik. Der Start von Joe Bidens Präsidentschaft ist auch in Afrika mit großen Erwartungen verbunden. In vier zentralen Themenbereichen wird sich entscheiden, ob die neue US-Administration diese Erwartungen erfüllt.

    Dr. Christian von Soest

    Lead Research Fellow / Leitung Forschungsschwerpunkt "Frieden und Sicherheit"


    Militär und Militarisierung

    Das Militär und Militarisierung kehren in die Politik zurück. Die Formen der Allianzen zwischen Militär und zivilen Eliten unterscheiden sich. Teilweise übernehmen aktive oder ehemalige Militärs hohe Regierungsämter und bedrohen oder unterdrücken Opposition und Zivilgesellschaft. In Zeiten sozialer, politischer und/oder wirtschaftlicher Krisen dient das Militär überwiegend zum Machterhalt der herrschenden Eliten. In anderen Kontexten treiben nationalistische Eliten die Militarisierung der Außenpolitik voran. Diese Themenreihe des GIGA Focus analysiert die Rolle des Militärs und die Prozesse der Militarisierung in unterschiedlichen Weltregionen.

    GIGA Focus Nahost | 7/2020

    Ägypten nach dem Arabischen Frühling: Vermächtnis ohne Aufbruch

    Zehn Jahre nach dem Beginn des Arabischen Frühlings wird deutlich, dass die zivil-militärischen Beziehungen, die Entwicklung der Infrastruktur sowie das Bevölkerungswachstum drei weiterhin ungelöste und miteinander in Verbindung stehende Herausforderungen für Ägypten darstellen. Eine Analyse.

    Hager Ali

    Doctoral Researcher

    GIGA Focus Global | 6/2020

    Materielle und diskursive Militarisierung in Demokratien

    Dr. David Kuehn

    Senior Research Fellow / Koordinator GIGA Forum

    Prof. Dr. Yagil Levy


    Zivilgesellschaftliche Freiräume weltweit unter Druck

    Rund um den Globus sind zivilgesellschaftliche Kräfte in den letzten Jahren zunehmend unter Druck geraten. Für Bürger und Nichtregierungsorganisationen schwinden weltweit die Räume, um sich für ihre zivilgesellschaftlichen Rechte und Interessen stark zu machen. Dieser Trend beeinträchtigt zivilgesellschaftliche Akteure nicht nur in autoritären Regimen, sondern leistet autoritären Praktiken auch in formal demokratischen Regimen Vorschub. Vor diesem Hintergrund stellt sich die Frage, wodurch die global wachsenden Einschränkungen zivilgesellschaftlichen Handelns zustandekommen und wie sie aufrechterhalten werden. Die Autoren der GIGA-Focus-Beiträge in diesem Themenschwerpunkt untersuchen Prozesse sich verringernder zivilgesellschaftlicher Räume aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven. Das GIGA forscht im Forschungsschwerpunkt 1 „Politische Verantwortlichkeit und Partizipation“, aber auch im Rahmen des IDCAR-Forschungsnetzwerks, zu diesen und verwandten Themen.

    GIGA Focus Global | 8/2021

    Zivilgesellschaftlichen Handlungsspielraum in der COVID-19-Pandemie bewahren: Globale Trends

    Autokratien auf der ganzen Welt haben COVID-19 ausgenutzt, um die bürgerlichen Freiheiten zu beschneiden. Die Gesundheitskrise hat jedoch auch Freiräume geschaffen, die zu einem Anstieg des zivilgesellschaftlichen Aktivismus geführt haben. Lesen Sie hier mehr.

    GIGA Focus Nahost | 6/2018

    Verringerte Handlungsspielräume für humanitären Schutz

    Über sechs Millionen Menschen leben als Binnenvertriebene in Syrien, über fünf Millionen sind ins Ausland geflohen – die meisten nach Jordanien, in den Libanon und die Türkei. In den letzten Jahren verschlechterte sich der humanitäre Schutz für Geflüchtete in den wichtigsten Aufnahmeländern des Nahen Ostens deutlich.

    GIGA Focus Asien | 6/2018

    Europäische NROs in China: Schwierige Abwägungen und Chancen der Zusammenarbeit

    Bertram Lang

    Ehemals Associate

    Prof. Dr. Heike Holbig

    Senior Research Fellow / Redaktion GIGA Focus Asien


    Deutschland und die multilaterale Ordnung

    Seit Januar 2019 gehört Deutschland als nichtständiges Mitglied dem UN-Sicherheitsrat an. Vor diesem Hintergrund stellt sich zum einen die Frage, welche Herausforderungen bis zum Ende der Mitgliedschaft im Dezember 2020 hier auf die deutsche Außenpolitik zukommen. Zum anderen geht es darum, welche Einflussmöglichkeiten – wenn überhaupt – multilaterale Akteure in den Konflikten rund um die Welt haben. Die GIGA-Focus-Serie analysiert vor diesem Hintergrund verschiedene Konfliktlagen in den Weltregionen.

    GIGA Focus Lateinamerika | 7/2019

    Lateinamerika – Multilateralismus ohne liberale Werte

    Prof. Dr. Sabine Kurtenbach

    Lead Research Fellow / Gesamtredaktion GIGA Focus Redaktion GIGA Focus Global


    Die G20 im Kontext globaler Veränderungen

    Die G20 repräsentieren rund zwei Drittel der Weltbevölkerung, über 80 Prozent der weltweiten Wirtschaftsleistung und drei Viertel des Welthandels. Vor dem Hintergrund der deutschen G20-Präsidentschaft im Jahr 2017 bietet diese Themenreihe des GIGA Focus fundierte Analysen zur G20 als Institution und ihrem Potenzial sowie zu zentralen Themen der G20-Agenda aus regionaler Perspektive.

    GIGA Focus Global | 6/2017

    Die G20 unter argentinischer Präsidentschaft: Die Hamburger Versprechen umsetzen!

    Am 1. Dezember 2017 hat Argentinien die Präsidentschaft der G20 von der deutschen Bundesregierung übernommen. Dies ist der richtige Zeitpunkt, um ein Fazit einer deutschen Präsidentschaft in unruhigen Zeiten zu ziehen. Außerdem können die in Aussicht gestellten Prioritäten Argentiniens bewertet werden.

    Prof. Dr. Jann Lay

    Lead Research Fellow / Leitung Forschungsschwerpunkt "Globalisierung und Entwicklung"

    GIGA Focus Nahost | 3/2017

    Strukturreformen in den Arabischen Golfstaaten – begrenzter Einfluss der G20

    Dr. Thomas Richter

    Lead Research Fellow / Leitung Forschungsschwerpunkt "Politische Veranwortlichkeit und Partizipation" Redaktion GIGA Focus Nahost

    GIGA Focus Lateinamerika | 3/2017

    Lateinamerikas Kampf gegen Korruption – das Ende der Straflosigkeit

    Prof. Dr. Sabine Kurtenbach

    Lead Research Fellow / Gesamtredaktion GIGA Focus Redaktion GIGA Focus Global


    Flucht und Migration

    Rund um die Welt haben derzeit 65 Millionen Menschen ihre Heimat verlassen und Landesgrenzen übertreten, um Asyl und Schutz zu suchen. Zählt man diejenigen hinzu, die innerhalb von Ländern vertrieben wurden, ist die Zahl noch weitaus höher. Diese Themenreihe des GIGA Focus widmet sich den vielfältigen Aspekten und Erfahrungen von Flucht und Migration.


    Pluralismus in den Sozialwissenschaften

    Die meisten Initiativen, mit denen globale Probleme gelöst werden sollen, gründen sich auf den Erfahrungen der industrialisierten „westlichen“ Welt. Andere Perspektiven werden – wenn überhaupt – an diesem Idealtypus gemessen. Diese Themenreihe des GIGA Focus zeigt auf, welcher Mehrwert entsteht, wenn die Ideen und Erfahrungen des „globalen Südens“ gerade in Fragen von Demokratie und Demokratisierung berücksichtigt werden.

    GIGA Focus Nahost | 4/2016

    Der Arabische Frühling: Missverständnisse und Perspektiven

    Dr. Stephan Rosiny

    Ehemals Research Fellow

    Dr. Thomas Richter

    Lead Research Fellow / Leitung Forschungsschwerpunkt "Politische Veranwortlichkeit und Partizipation" Redaktion GIGA Focus Nahost

    GIGA Focus Afrika | 4/2016

    Externe Unterstützung stärkt die Demokratie in Afrika

    Dr. Christian von Soest

    Lead Research Fellow / Leitung Forschungsschwerpunkt "Frieden und Sicherheit"

    Fabian Bohnenberger

    Ehemals Associate

    GIGA Focus Asien | 2/2016

    Wer C sagt, muss auch D sagen: Chinas Anlauf zur "weltgrößten Demokratie"

    Prof. Dr. Heike Holbig

    Senior Research Fellow / Redaktion GIGA Focus Asien

    Günter Schucher

    Ehemals Senior Research Fellow

    Benachrichtigungen

    Melden Sie sich hier für E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen zu GIGA-Aktivitäten an

    Soziale Medien

    Folgen Sie uns