GIGA NDR Series "Crossing Borders"

In God's Name: Religion and Violence in Africa

Date

29/05/2019

Start

06:30 p.m. (CET)

1 / 5

  • Violent conflicts in Africa are increasing. Whether they take the form of terrorist attacks in Kenya, mass kidnappings in Nigeria, or a violent revolt in Mali, these events, no matter how different they are, are frequently attributed to religious motives. Religion – Christianity, Islam, or mixed forms with a range of traditional beliefs – is a central element of cultural life in many African countries. It can generate community, group identity, orientation, and order where state institutions fall short or fail and where the rule of law and prospects for the future are absent. Religion serves as a binding force for societal cohesion and peace. However, religion or the misuse of religion can equally support radicalisation and violence.

    The extent to which religion is the trigger for violent conflicts in African countries – for example, Kenya, Mali, Chad, or Nigeria – and what other factors play a role will be discussed by moderator Julia-Niharika Sen (NDR TV programme “Weltbilder”), Prof. Dr. Matthias Basedau (Director of the GIGA Institute for African Affairs), Caroline Hoffmann (ARD correspondent in Nairobi), and Jens Borchers (ARD correspondent in Rabat). They will illuminate the religious dimension of these conflicts from different perspectives and provide insights from research practice and on-site reporting. With a more precise view to the large differences between the very diverse societies of the continent, they will analyse the causes of conflict, identify external influences, and offer assessments regarding future development.

    In the collaborative event series from NDR and the GIGA “Crossing Borders – Foreign Correspondents Connecting with Scholars” (“Grenzgänger – Auslandskorrespondenten treffen Wissenschaftler”), researchers and journalists discuss current events across the world, always including a perspective on how Germany and Hamburg are affected.

    Notification

    Sign up to receive email notifications about GIGA activities

    Social Media

    Follow us

GIGA NDR

In Gottes Namen: Religion und Gewalt in Afrika

Datum

29.05.2019

Beginn

18:30 Uhr (MEZ)

1 / 5

  • Gewaltkonflikte in Afrika nehmen zu. Seien es terroristische Anschläge in Kenia, Massenentführungen in Nigeria oder ein gewaltsamer Aufstand in Mali, so unterschiedlich diese Ereignisse sind, so werden doch häufig religiöse Motive als Hauptursache angeführt. Religion – ob Christentum, Islam oder Mischformen mit einer Vielzahl traditioneller Glaubensrichtungen – ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil des kulturellen Lebens in vielen afrikanischen Ländern. Sie kann Gemeinschaft und Gruppenidentität, Orientierung und Regelungen schaffen, wo staatliche Institutionen zu kurz greifen oder versagen und Rechtstaatlichkeit und Zukunftsperspektiven fehlen. Religion ist dann Bindemittel des gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalts und sozialen Friedens. Genauso aber kann Religion oder der Missbrauch von Religion Radikalisierung und Gewalt befördern.

    Inwieweit die Religion Auslöser für gewaltsame Konflikte in afrikanischen Ländern, wie z.B. Kenia, Mali, Tschad oder Nigeria ist und welche anderen Faktoren eine Rolle spielen, darüber diskutiert Moderatorin Julia-Niharika Sen (NDR Auslandsmagazin „Weltbilder“) mit Prof. Dr. Matthias Basedau (Direktor des GIGA Instituts für Afrika-Studien), Caroline Hoffman (ARD-Korrespondentin Nairobi) und Jens Borchers (ARD-Hörfunk-Korrespondent für Nord- und Westafrika). Sie werden die religiöse Dimension in diesen Konflikten aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven beleuchten und Einsichten aus Forschungspraxis und Berichterstattung vor Ort eröffnen. Mit einem genaueren Blick für die großen Unterschiede der sehr diversen Gesellschaften des Kontinents analysieren sie Konfliktursachen, identifizieren externe Einflüsse und bieten Einschätzungen der zukünftigen Entwicklung an.

    In der gemeinsamen Veranstaltungsreihe des NDR und des GIGA „Grenzgänger – Auslandskorrespondenten treffen Wissenschaftler“ diskutieren ForscherInnen und JournalistInnen über aktuelle Entwicklungen rund um die Welt, die immer auch Deutschland und Hamburg betreffen.

    Benachrichtigungen

    Melden Sie sich hier für E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen zu GIGA-Aktivitäten an

    Soziale Medien

    Folgen Sie uns