GIGA Forum

The Fight for Equal Rights and Freedom in Iran

Date

07/12/2022

Start

03:00 p.m. (CET)

End

04:30 p.m. (CET)


  • Since mid-September 2022, a wave of protests has been sweeping Iran. What started out as spontaneous rallies triggered by the death in police custody of 22-year-old Jina Mahsa Amini has quickly turned into a widespread uprising demanding regime change. Consequently, the state has reacted to the demonstrations with significant violence despite international condemnation. As of early November, human rights groups have reported at least 233 killed since the beginning of the protests, with local sources expecting the number to be much higher. This GIGA Forum addresses the root causes of the protests and their significance at the domestic, regional, and international levels. It assesses the role of key players in this crisis and their potential strategies in the short- to medium term, and sheds light on the importance of international support for the protest movements in Iran. Speakers: Shukriya Bradost is a PhD Student at the School of Public and International Affairs, Virginia Tech University. Gilda Sahebi is a Journalist and Author. Dastan Jasim is a Research Fellow at the GIGA Institute for Middle East Studies and Member of the GIGA Doctoral Programme. Marcus Michaelsen, PhD, is a Senior Researcher in the Citizen Lab based at the Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy, University of Toronto. Moderator: Dr. Sara Bazoobandi is a Research Fellow at the GIGA Institute for Middle East Studies.


    Organiser

    Dr. Sara Bazoobandi

    Research Fellow

    Dastan Jasim

    Doctoral Researcher

    Dr. David Kuehn

    Senior Research Fellow / Coordinator GIGA Forum


    Registration

    We would like to ask you to register for this event. The registration is free of charge. You will receive your personal participation link and further information by e-mail before the online event starts. If you do not receive this email right before the event (please also check your spam folder), please contact us: events@giga-hamburg.de. By registering, you agree to the GIGAs data protection guidelines. We will update our data protection notice as necessary. You can find the current version at: https://www.giga-hamburg.de/en/data-protection.

    Register here

    We offer our events digitally or in hybrid setting. We monitor the current pandemic situation and act accordingly. We look forward to your participation.

    GIGA Focus Middle East | 6/2022

    Iran’s Uprisings: A Feminist Foreign Policy Approach

    Iran’s uprisings carry strong implications for states that have adopted a feminist foreign policy. For Germany, this is an opportunity to showcase the potential of its recent turn towards a new feminist foreign policy agenda.

    Diba Mirzaei

    Doctoral Researcher

    Hamid Talebian

    Doctoral Researcher

    Blog Article | 10/2022

    Iran Protests: Reform, Revolution, or Status Quo?

    The demands of the protesters for regime change are a clear manifestation of the deep frustration and the loss of hope for reform among the Iranian public and seem to signal that the time is ripe for comprehensive change.

    Dastan Jasim

    Doctoral Researcher

    Dr. Sara Bazoobandi

    Research Fellow

    GIGA Focus Middle East | 3/2022

    Re-Revolutionising Iran: Condemning Prosperity and Jihadi Management

    President Raisi is working to revitalise the Islamic Republic’s revolutionary values. While direct responses to socio-economic discontent consist of taking repressive measures, the government is also implementing a policy mixture shaped by the “jihadi” management style of a re-revolutionising elite.

    Dr. Sara Bazoobandi

    Research Fellow

    Notification

    Sign up to receive email notifications about GIGA activities

    Social Media

    Follow us

GIGA Forum

Der Kampf um Gleichberechtigung und Freiheit im Iran

Datum

07.12.2022

Beginn

15:00 Uhr (MEZ)

Ende

16:30 Uhr (MEZ)


  • Seit dem Tod der 22-jährigen Mahsa Amini in Polizeigewahrsam Mitte September 2022 wird der Iran von einer großen Protestwelle überrollt. Was mit spontanen Kundgebungen begann, hat sich schnell zu einem landesweiten Aufstand entwickelt, der einen Regimewechsel fordert. Der Staat hat trotz internationaler Verurteilung mit harter Gewalt auf die Demonstrationen reagiert. Internationale Menschenrechtsgruppen berichten von mindestens 233 Toten seit Beginn der Proteste. Lokale Quellen gehen jedoch davon aus, dass die Zahl noch deutlich höher liegt. Dieses GIGA Forum befasst sich mit den Ursachen der Proteste und ihrer Bedeutung auf nationaler, regionaler und internationaler Ebene. Neben der Rolle der Hauptakteur:innen in dieser Krise und ihren kurz- bis mittelfristigen Strategien wird auch die Bedeutung der internationalen Unterstützung für die Protestbewegungen im Iran beleuchtet. Referent:innen: Shukriya Bradost ist Doktorandin an der School of Public and International Affairs der Virginia Tech University. Gilda Sahebi ist Journalistin und Autorin. Dastan Jasim ist Research Fellow am GIGA Institut für Nahost-Studien und Mitglied des GIGA Doktorandenprogramms. Marcus Michaelsen, PhD, ist Senior Researcher am Citizen Lab an der Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy der Universität Toronto. Moderatorin: Dr. Sara Bazoobandi ist Research Fellow am GIGA Institut für Nahost-Studien.


    Organisation

    Dr. Sara Bazoobandi

    Research Fellow

    Dastan Jasim

    Doctoral Researcher

    Dr. David Kuehn

    Senior Research Fellow / Koordinator GIGA Forum


    Anmeldung

    Wir möchten Sie bitten, sich für diese Veranstaltung anzumelden. Die Anmeldung ist kostenlos. Sie erhalten Ihren persönlichen Teilnahme-Link und weitere Informationen per E-Mail vor Beginn der Online-Veranstaltung. Sollten Sie diese E-Mail nicht unmittelbar vor der Veranstaltung erhalten (bitte überprüfen Sie auch Ihren Spam-Ordner), wenden Sie sich bitte an uns: events@giga-hamburg.de. Mit der Anmeldung erklären Sie sich mit den Datenschutzrichtlinien des GIGA einverstanden. Wir werden unsere Datenschutzhinweise bei Bedarf aktualisieren. Die aktuelle Version finden Sie unter: https://www.giga-hamburg.de/de/datenschutz/.

    Hier anmelden

    Wir bieten Ihnen unsere Veranstaltungen rein digital oder hybrid an. Dabei berücksichtigen wir stets die aktuelle Pandemie-Situation. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Teilnahme.

    GIGA Focus Nahost | 6/2022

    Iran’s Uprisings: A Feminist Foreign Policy Approach

    Die Aufstände im Iran haben Konsequenzen für Staaten, welche eine feministische Außenpolitik betreiben. Für Deutschland bietet dies die Möglichkeit, das Potenzial seiner jüngsten Hinwendung zu einer neuen feministischen Außenpolitik aufzuzeigen.

    Diba Mirzaei

    Doctoral Researcher

    Hamid Talebian

    Doctoral Researcher

    Blogbeitrag | 10.2022

    Iran Protests: Reform, Revolution, or Status Quo?

    The demands of the protesters for regime change are a clear manifestation of the deep frustration and the loss of hope for reform among the Iranian public and seem to signal that the time is ripe for comprehensive change.

    Dastan Jasim

    Doctoral Researcher

    Dr. Sara Bazoobandi

    Research Fellow

    GIGA Focus Nahost | 3/2022

    Re-Revolutionising Iran: Condemning Prosperity and Jihadi Management

    Präsident Raisi bemüht sich um die Revitalisierung der revolutionären Werte der Islamischen Republik. Weil die Regierung auf sozioökonomische Unzufriedenheit direkt mit Repression reagiert, implementiert sie zudem Maßnahmen, die durch den "dschihadistischen" Stil der sich revolutionär gebenden Elite geprägt ist.

    Dr. Sara Bazoobandi

    Research Fellow

    Benachrichtigungen

    Melden Sie sich hier für E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen zu GIGA-Aktivitäten an

    Soziale Medien

    Folgen Sie uns