GIGA Talk

After Istanbul: Women’s Rights and Human Rights in Turkey

Date

11/05/2022

Start

04:00 p.m. (CET)

End

05:30 p.m. (CET)

Video GIGA Talk - After Istanbul: Women’s Rights and Human Rights in Turkey
1 / 2
Video GIGA Talk - After Istanbul: Women’s Rights and Human Rights in Turkey

  • In March 2021, Turkey announced that it would leave the Istanbul Convention – the Council of Europe’s milestone legislation in addressing violence against women and domestic violence. This step, which took effect on 1 July 2021, came as an unexpected reversal since the Convention had been signed under the Turkish presidency of the Council of Europe in May 2011 and the Turkish parliament had been the first to ratify it in 2012. Turkish women’s rights organisations and opposition parties protested in the streets against this shock decision and condemned it as a further setback to Turkey’s continued democratic development. 

    What has changed on the ground since then? What were the reasons behind the withdrawal from the Convention, important given the fact that it came in the context of other undemocratic moves such as Turkey’s refusal to implement key decisions by the European Court of Human Rights, the ongoing imprisonment of political opponents, the trial ban against the Kurdish HD Party, and the intimidation of civil society activists and journalists? What does all this imply for the Turkish government’s claim that it still pursues EU accession as a strategic goal?  

    Meanwhile, the economic situation is bleak, the ruling AK Party faces a considerable decline in popularity, yet the political opposition has been weak. However, in February six opposition parties announced that they would form an alliance for next year’s presidential and parliamentary elections.  

    This GIGA Talk will investigate the conditions on the ground, especially for women, following Turkey’s withdrawal from the Istanbul Convention. It will also examine the broader context of Turkish domestic politics and the implications of the country’s democratic backsliding.  

    Speakers:  Feray Salman is General Coordinator of İHOP–Human Rights Joint Platform, Turkey. 

    Dr. Hakkı Taş is a Research Fellow at the GIGA Institute for Middle East Studies. 

    Discussant:  Petra Dachtler is Diplomat in Residence and Fellow at the GIGA.  

    Moderator:  Prof. Dr. Merike Blofield is Director of the GIGA Institute for Latin American Studies.


    Organiser

    Prof. Dr. Bert Hoffmann

    Lead Research Fellow / Head GIGA Berlin Office Editor GIGA Focus Latin America


    Location

    Online event

    Language

    English

    Registration

    We would like to ask you to register for this event. The registration is free of charge. You will receive your personal participation link and further information by e-mail before the online event starts. If you do not receive this email right before the event (please also check your spam folder), please contact us: events@giga-hamburg.de. By registering, you agree to the GIGA's data protection guidelines. We will update our data protection notice as necessary. You can find the current version at: https://www.giga-hamburg.de/en/data-protection.

    The GIGA is taking the coronavirus situation very seriously. Our events take place in the digital space or in hybrid format. Team GIGA is still working mainly from home. We are pleased to be able to offer you our products without restriction.

    Social Protection

    Social protection shields people against health crisis and other shocks and can help people overcome poverty traps. We do research on a wide range of crucial social, economic, and political issues related to the design, scope, and implementation challenges of social protection programs.

    Lancet Global Health, The | 11/2021

    A Diagonal and Social Protection Plus Approach to meet the Challenges of the COVID-19 Syndemic: Cash Transfers and Intimate Partner Violence Interventions in Latin America

    The authors of this paper argue that building programmatic linkages between social protection platforms, particularly cash transfers, and IPV prevention, mitigation, and response services, creates synergies that can promote freedom from both poverty and violence.

    Prof. Dr. Felicia Knaul

    Renzo Calderon-Anyosa

    Ass. Prof. Dr. Amber Peterman

    Dr. Juliana Martínez Franzoni

    Megan O'Donnell

    Dr. Flavia Bustreo

    GIGA Focus Middle East | 1/2022

    Doom and Gloom: Leaving Erdoğan’s Turkey

    Although known as a host and transit country, Turkey today is in the midst of its fifth wave of emigration as a result of the country’s authoritarian and economic challenges. From asylum seekers to wealthy businesspeople, many seek to leave Erdoğan’s Turkey to make a fresh start elsewhere.

    Notification

    Sign up to receive email notifications about GIGA activities

    Social Media

    Follow us

GIGA Talk

Nach Istanbul: Frauenrechte und Menschenrechte in der Türkei

Datum

11.05.2022

Beginn

16:00 Uhr (MEZ)

Ende

17:30 Uhr (MEZ)

Video GIGA Talk - After Istanbul: Women’s Rights and Human Rights in Turkey
1 / 4
Video GIGA Talk - After Istanbul: Women’s Rights and Human Rights in Turkey

  • Im März 2021 kündigte die Türkei an, aus der Istanbul-Konvention auszutreten – dem Meilenstein des Europarats im Kampf gegen Gewalt gegen Frauen und häusliche Gewalt. Dieser Schritt, der am 1. Juli 2021 in Kraft trat, kam als unerwartete Kehrtwende, da die Konvention unter dem türkischen Vorsitz des Europarats im Mai 2011 unterzeichnet worden war und das türkische Parlament sie 2012 als erstes ratifiziert hatte. Türkische Frauenrechtsorganisationen und Oppositionsparteien protestierten gegen diese Entscheidung und verurteilten sie als einen weiteren Rückschlag für die demokratische Entwicklung der Türkei.  

    Was hat sich seither vor Ort geändert? Was waren die Gründe für den Austritt aus der Konvention, zumal dieser im Kontext anderer undemokratischer Maßnahmen, wie der Weigerung der Türkei, wichtige Entscheidungen des Europäischen Gerichtshofs für Menschenrechte umzusetzen, der Inhaftierung politischer Gegner, dem Verbotsverfahren gegen die kurdische HD-Partei und der Einschüchterung von Aktivisten der Zivilgesellschaft und Journalisten? Was bedeutet all dies für die Behauptung der türkischen Regierung, sie verfolge den EU-Beitritt weiterhin als strategisches Ziel?  

    In der Zwischenzeit erscheint die wirtschaftliche Lage düster, die regierende AK-Partei kämpft mit einem erheblichen Popularitätsverlust und die politische Opposition ist schwach. Im Februar kündigten sechs Oppositionsparteien an, dass sie für die Präsidentschafts- und Parlamentswahlen im nächsten Jahr ein Bündnis bilden werden.  

    Dieser GIGA Talk wird die Bedingungen vor Ort, insbesondere für Frauen, nach dem Austritt der Türkei aus der Istanbul-Konvention untersuchen. Außerdem werden der breitere Kontext der türkischen Innenpolitik und die Auswirkungen des demokratischen Rückschritts der Türkei untersucht.   

    Referent:innen:  Feray Salman ist Generalkoordinatorin von İHOP – Gemeinsame Plattform für Menschenrechte in der Türkei. 

    Dr. Hakkı Taş ist Research Fellow am GIGA Institut für Nahost-Studien. 

    Kommentatorin:  Petra Dachtler ist Diplomatin in Residence and Fellow am GIGA.

    Moderation:  Prof. Dr. Merike Blofield ist Direktorin des GIGA Instituts für Lateinamerika-Studien.


    Organisation

    Prof. Dr. Bert Hoffmann

    Lead Research Fellow / Leitung GIGA Berlin Büro Redaktion GIGA Focus Lateinamerika


    Adresse

    Online event

    Sprache

    Englisch

    Anmeldung

    Wir möchten Sie bitten, sich für diese Veranstaltung anzumelden. Die Anmeldung ist kostenlos. Sie erhalten Ihren persönlichen Teilnahme-Link und weitere Informationen per E-Mail vor Beginn der Online-Veranstaltung. Sollten Sie diese E-Mail nicht unmittelbar vor der Veranstaltung erhalten (bitte überprüfen Sie auch Ihren Spam-Ordner), wenden Sie sich bitte an uns: events@giga-hamburg.de. Mit der Anmeldung erklären Sie sich mit den Datenschutzrichtlinien des GIGA einverstanden. Wir werden unsere Datenschutzhinweise bei Bedarf aktualisieren. Die aktuelle Version finden Sie unter: https://www.giga-hamburg.de/de/datenschutz/.

    Wir bieten Ihnen unsere Veranstaltungen rein digital oder hybrid an. Dabei berücksichtigen wir stets die aktuelle Pandemie-Situation. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Teilnahme.

    Soziale Sicherheit

    Politische Programme für soziale Sicherheit schützen Menschen vor Gesundheitskrisen und anderen Schocks und können helfen, Armutsfallen zu überwinden. Wir forschen zu einem breiten Spektrum von entscheidenden sozialen, wirtschaftlichen und politischen Fragen im Zusammenhang mit der Gestaltung, dem Umfang und den Herausforderungen bei der Umsetzung von Sozialschutzprogrammen.

    Lancet Global Health, The | 01.2022

    A Diagonal and Social Protection Plus Approach to meet the Challenges of the COVID-19 Syndemic: Cash Transfers and Intimate Partner Violence Interventions in Latin America

    Die Autor:innen dieses Artikels argumentieren, dass der Aufbau von Sozialschutzplattformen, Geldtransfers und Prävention von Gewalt in Paarbeziehungen Synergien schafft, die sowohl die Bekämpfung von Armut als auch von Gewalt fördern können.

    Prof. Dr. Felicia Knaul

    Renzo Calderon-Anyosa

    Ass. Prof. Dr. Amber Peterman

    Dr. Juliana Martínez Franzoni

    Megan O'Donnell

    Dr. Flavia Bustreo

    GIGA Focus Nahost | 1/2022

    Doom and Gloom: Leaving Erdoğan’s Turkey

    Die Türkei wird vor allem als Aufnahme- und Transitland von Geflüchteten gesehen. Aufgrund autoritärer und wirtschaftlicher Entwicklungen befindet sich das Land aktuell in einer fünften Auswanderungswelle. Von Asylsuchenden bis zu Geschäftsleuten versuchen viele, Erdoğans Türkei zu verlassen, um anderswo neu anzufangen.

    Dr. Hakkı Taş

    Research Fellow

    Benachrichtigungen

    Melden Sie sich hier für E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen zu GIGA-Aktivitäten an

    Soziale Medien

    Folgen Sie uns