Workshop

Policy Challenges in Latin America: Looking to the Future

Workshop hosted by the EU-LAC Foundation and the GIGA

Date

07/04/2022 - 08/04/2022

1 / 8

  • The COVID-19 pandemic has exposed and exacerbated the structural vulnerabilities of Latin American states, including their high inequality and informality. With just eight per cent of the world’s population, the region had, by the end of 2021, reported almost 30 per cent of COVID-19 deaths globally. Latin America and the Caribbean (LAC) has also experienced the most severe pandemic-induced economic crisis of any world region, with a seven per cent GDP contraction in 2020 and a lower level of expected recovery than elsewhere. In this context, social policies have played a crucial intermediary role in managing the pandemic’s health and economic effects and households’ ability to cope. A demographic that has taken a particular hit are children, with an over 50 per cent poverty rate amid the longest school closures of any region in the world. Meanwhile, democratic stability is strained in many countries having to cope with acute social and political fragmentation.

    This two-day workshop will assess some of the key policy challenges that countries in the region are facing, what they can do about them to promote inclusive and sustainable recovery, and what insights scholars from Political Science, Sociology, Economics, and Health Sciences can bring to the conversation. We will address some of the enduring challenges as these countries recover, including gaps in social protections and labour informality, education and health, fiscal space, state capacity and high levels of violence, as well as migration. Furthermore, we will discuss topics such as democratic stability, the rise of new political actors, populism, the politicisation of the judiciary and the judicialisation of politics, climate change policies, and, finally, what all this means for multilateralism and European Union–LAC relations.

    The goal will be to draw on scholars’ empirical knowledge base to assess future trends and to provide actionable policy proposals. The format will be focused thematic panel discussions with moderator questions, followed by open debate.

    Conveners: Dr. Merike Blofield is Director of the GIGA Institute for Latin American Studies and Professor of Political Science at Universität Hamburg. Dr. Adrían Bonilla is Executive Director of the EU-LAC Foundation. Ernesto Jeger is Senior Programme Manager of the EU-LAC Foundation.


    Location

    Handwerkskammer Hamburg

    Language

    English

    By invitation


    Coronavirus and the Global South

    Large parts of Asia, Africa, Latin America, and the Middle East are being very seriously affected by the disease, and the states of the Global South are showing a wide variation in their reactions. Learn more how the GIGA contributes to addressing the worldwide repercussions of the pandemic.

    Research Project | 01/10/2021 - 01/10/2022

    COVID-19 in Latin America: The Role of Social Protections for Households with Children

    This project analyzes the socio-economic fall-out of the COVID-19 pandemic, and the intervening role of social protections, on families with children in eight Latin American countries. The region, with high levels of inequality, labor informality, and urbanization, has been particularly hard hit by both pandemic deaths and economic effects. The social protection responses, however, have varied dramatically, from a massive emergency assistance plan in Brazil to virtually no additional cash transfer aid in Mexico.
    DFG, 2021-2022

    Dr. Juliana Martínez Franzoni

    DW News | Expert Comment / Guest Contribution | 02/08/2021

    COVID-19 Special: Latin America — the new hot spot

    Notification

    Sign up to receive email notifications about GIGA activities

    Social Media

    Follow us

Workshop

Lateinamerikas politische Herausforderungen: Ein Blick in die Zukunft

Workshop der EU-LAC Foundation und des GIGA

Datum

07.04.2022 - 08.04.2022

1 / 8

  • Die COVID-19-Pandemie hat die strukturellen Schwachstellen der lateinamerikanischen Staaten, einschließlich der ausgeprägten Ungleichheit und Informalität, offengelegt und verschärft. Mit nur acht Prozent der Weltbevölkerung hatte die Region bis Ende 2021 fast 30 Prozent der weltweiten COVID-19-Todesfälle zu verzeichnen. Lateinamerika und die Karibik haben zudem die schwerste pandemiebedingte Wirtschaftskrise aller Weltregionen erlebt: Das BIP sank im Jahr 2020 um sieben Prozentpunkte; die Wirtschaft erholte sich langsamer als erwartet. Bei der Bewältigung der gesundheitlichen und wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen der Pandemie sowie für die Fähigkeit der Privathaushalte, mit der Krise umzugehen, spielte die Sozialpolitik eine entscheidende Rolle. Kinder, deren Armutsquote bei über 50 Prozent liegt, sind besonders betroffen, da sie die längsten Schulschließungen aller Regionen der Welt hinnehmen mussten. Gleichzeitig ist die demokratische Stabilität in vielen Ländern, die mit einer akuten sozialen und politischen Fragmentierung zu kämpfen haben, gefährdet.

    In diesem zweitägigen Workshop werden einige der wichtigsten politischen Herausforderungen untersucht, mit denen die Länder der Region konfrontiert sind. Es wird erörtert, was nötig ist, um einen integrativen und nachhaltigen Aufschwung zu fördern, und welche Erkenntnisse Wissenschaftler:innen aus den Bereichen Politikwissenschaft, Soziologie, Wirtschaft und Gesundheitswissenschaften in die Diskussion einbringen können. Wir werden einige der anhaltenden Herausforderungen bei der Erholung dieser Länder thematisieren, darunter die Lücken in den Systemen der sozialen Sicherung, Informalität der Arbeit, Probleme im Bildungs- und Gesundheitsbereich, mangelnder fiskalischer Gestaltungsraum, eingeschränkte staatliche Handlungsfähigkeit, das hohe Maß an Gewalt sowie Migration. Darüber hinaus werden wir Themen beleuchten wie die demokratische Stabilität, den Aufstieg neuer politischer Akteure, Populismus, die Politisierung der Justiz und die Judikalisierung der Politik, die Klimaschutzpolitik und schließlich die Bedeutung all dieser Aspekte für den Multilateralismus und die Beziehungen der Europäischen Union mit Lateinamerika und der Karibik.

    Ziel ist es, die empirische Wissensbasis der Forschenden zu nutzen, um zukünftige Trends zu bewerten und umsetzbare politische Vorschläge zu unterbreiten. Das Format besteht aus fokussiert-thematischen Podiumsdiskussionen mit Fragen der Moderator:innen, gefolgt von einer offenen Debatte.

    Organisator:innen: Prof. Dr. Merike Blofield ist Direktorin des GIGA Instituts für Lateinamerika-Studien und Professorin für Politikwissenschaft an der Universität Hamburg. Dr. Adrían Bonilla ist Geschäftsführender Direktor der EU-LAC Stiftung. Ernesto Jeger ist Senior Programm Manager der EU-LAC Stiftung.


    Adresse

    Handwerkskammer Hamburg

    Sprache

    Englisch

    Auf Einladung


    Coronavirus und der Globale Süden

    Große Teile Asiens, Afrikas, Lateinamerikas und des Nahen Ostens sind sehr schwer von der Krankheit betroffen, und die Staaten des Globalen Südens reagieren sehr unterschiedlich. Erfahren Sie mehr darüber, wie das GIGA dazu beiträgt, den weltweiten Auswirkungen der Pandemie zu begegnen.

    Forschungsprojekt | 01.10.2021 - 01.10.2022

    COVID-19 in Latin America: The Role of Social Protections for Households with Children

    This project analyzes the socio-economic fall-out of the COVID-19 pandemic, and the intervening role of social protections, on families with children in eight Latin American countries. The region, with high levels of inequality, labor informality, and urbanization, has been particularly hard hit by both pandemic deaths and economic effects. The social protection responses, however, have varied dramatically, from a massive emergency assistance plan in Brazil to virtually no additional cash transfer aid in Mexico.
    DFG, 2021-2022

    Prof. Dr. Merike Blofield

    Direktorin des GIGA Instituts für Lateinamerika-Studien

    Dr. Juliana Martínez Franzoni

    DW News | Kommentar / Gastbeitrag | 02.08.2021

    COVID-19 Special: Latin America — the new hot spot

    Prof. Dr. Merike Blofield

    Direktorin des GIGA Instituts für Lateinamerika-Studien

    Benachrichtigungen

    Melden Sie sich hier für E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen zu GIGA-Aktivitäten an

    Soziale Medien

    Folgen Sie uns