GIGA Event

Crisis Narratives, Institutional Change, and State Transformation: Japan in the Global Context

Date

19/10/2018

Start

09:30 a.m. (CET)

1 / 3

  • While East Asia’s, and especially China’s, economic growth has become a major driving force of global change, developed countries are struggling to readjust their social, economic, and political institutions to the challenges of financial crises, shrinking populations, and the rising demand for and costs of social welfare. As an economically and technologically highly advanced society, Japan finds itself at the intersection and forefront of these regional and global changes. As Japan seeks to redefine its role and responsibilities in regional and global affairs, two decades of low economic growth and rapid demographic decline as well as the impacts of the 11 March 2011 triple disaster (also known as 3.11) have generated a sense of national crisis. Yet debates about a power shift toward China and the decline of Japan, including the latter’s “lost decades,” remain ambiguous if not contradictory regarding what this decline actually entails and what social and political institutions are in crisis. This raises the following research questions:

    • What structural – i.e., “real” – societal, economic, domestic-political, and international changes have challenged which institutions in post-war Japan since the late 1980s?

    • How have these challenges been framed in crisis narratives, and by whom?

    • What institutional changes have these narratives provoked, enabled, or hindered?

    • If no change is evident, who staged resistance and using which counter-narrative?

    • What is the potential of the (envisioned) institutional changes to alleviate the original causes of the crisis – i.e., the “real” structural challenges identified at the outset?

    • What are the implications of these findings for the respective policy area and for the future of Japan as a whole?

    • And what can the transformation of the Japanese state tell us about similar social, economic, and political transformations in East Asia and in Europe, including their international political reverberations?

    To answer these questions, the organisers have invited sociologists and political scientists from inside and outside of Japan who work on a variety of policy fields and cover different issue areas within them. They will approach the above set of questions through the analysis of societal change, narrations of crisis, and institutional change from a range of thematic perspectives including economic inequality; demographic change; civil society in the aftermath of Fukushima; science, technology, and innovation; macroeconomic policies; educational reforms and globalisation; populism and the political system; foreign policy crisis management; official development assistance and cooperation; and security politics.

    Prior registration is required: The workshop is open to interested academic staff and postgraduate students from the GIGA and the University of Hamburg.

    Location

    Hamburg

    Language

    English

    Download


    Notification

    Sign up to receive email notifications about GIGA activities

    Social Media

    Follow us

GIGA Event

Crisis Narratives, Institutional Change, and State Transformation: Japan in the Global Context

Datum

19.10.2018

Beginn

09:30 Uhr (MEZ)

1 / 3

  • Während das ökonomische Wachstum Ostasiens und insbesondere Chinas zu einer treibenden Kraft für den globalen Wandel geworden ist, ringen Entwicklungsländer in der Region darum, ihre sozialen, ökonomischen und politischen Institutionen an die Herausforderungen der Finanzkrisen, rückläufiger Bevölkerungszahlen sowie zunehmender Rufe nach Wohlfahrtsleistungen und der daraus entstehenden Kosten anzupassen. Als eine ökonomisch und technologisch hoch entwickelte Gesellschaft sieht Japan sich selbst im Zentrum sowie als Vorreiter dieser regionalen und globalen Veränderungen. Gegenwärtig versucht Japan, seine Position und Verantwortung global und regional neu zu definieren. Jedoch haben zwei Dekaden geringen wirtschaftlichen Wachstums, der rapide Bevölkerungsrückgang und die Auswirkungen der Katastrophe vom 11. März 2011 (auch bekannt als 3/11) das Gefühl einer nationalen Krise erzeugt. Debatten über eine Machtverschiebung zugunsten Chinas und einen Niedergang Japans bleiben unterdessen ergebnislos und sogar widersprüchlich in Bezug auf die Frage, was dieser Niedergang tatsächlich beinhaltet und welche sozialen und politischen Institutionen betroffen sind. Dies wirft die folgenden Forschungsfragen auf:

    • Mit welchen strukturellen – d.h. „realen“ – gesellschaftlichen, innenpolitischen und internationalen Veränderungen sind Institutionen im Nachkriegsjapan seit dem Ende der 1980er Jahre konfrontiert?

    • Wie wurden diese Veränderungen in Krisen-Narrative dargestellt und von wem?

    • Welche institutionellen Veränderungen haben diese Narrative provoziert, ermöglicht oder behindert?

    • Wenn keine Veränderung festzustellen ist, wer inszenierte dann den Widerstand und mit welchen Gegendarstellungen?

    • Welches Potential bieten die (vorgestellten) institutionellen Veränderungen, um die ursprünglichen Ursachen der Krise abzumildern, d.h. die strukturellen „realen“ Herausforderungen, die zu Beginn identifiziert wurden?

    • Welche Auswirkungen haben diese Ergebnisse auf den jeweiligen Politikbereich und auf die Zukunft Japans insgesamt?

    • Was kann uns der Wandel des japanischen Staates über ähnliche soziale, ökonomische und politische Veränderungen in Ostasien und Europa – einschließlich der internationalen politischen Nachwirkungen – sagen?

    Um diese Fragen zu beantworten, haben die Organisatoren internationale und japanische SoziologInnen und PolitikwissenschaftlerInnen eingeladen, die in verschiedenen Politikfeldern arbeiten und damit zahlreiche Problembereiche abdecken. Sie nähern sich dem genannten Fragenkomplex durch die Analyse gesellschaftlicher Veränderungen, von Krisen-Narrativen und des institutionellen Wandels und betrachten folgende thematische Schwerpunkte: wirtschaftliche Ungleichheit, demographischer Wandel, die Zivilgesellschaft nach den Auswirkungen von Fukushima, Wissenschaft, Technologie und Innovation, makroökonomische Politiken, Bildungsreformen und Globalisierung, Populismus und das jeweilige politische System, außenpolitisches Krisenmanagement, offizielle Entwicklungshilfe und Kooperation sowie Sicherheitspolitik.

    Eine vorherige Anmeldung zu diesem Workshop ist erforderlich. Es können zudem alle interessierten wissenschaftlichen MitarbeiterInnen und DoktorandInnen des GIGA und der Universität Hamburg teilnehmen.

    Adresse

    Hamburg

    Sprache

    Englisch

    Download


    Benachrichtigungen

    Melden Sie sich hier für E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen zu GIGA-Aktivitäten an

    Soziale Medien

    Folgen Sie uns