GIGA NDR Series "Crossing Borders"

Terror against Muslims – Fleeing Myanmar

Date

04/06/2018

Start

06:30 p.m. (CET)

1 / 8

  • Radicalisation and religious extremism are phenomena that many initially associate with Islam. In South and Southeast Asia, though, a more complex picture comes into focus: Buddhist extremism is currently playing a big role in Myanmar, where Muslim segments of the population are being terrorised, persecuted, and driven out. Even Aung San Suu Kyi, once considered by many a peace icon, has yet to taken action vis-à-vis these violent outbreaks. The plight of the Rohingya, currently considered the world’s most heavily persecuted minority, has been paid too little attention by the rest of the world.

    The panelists’ personal experiences on the ground and the distinct approaches they take in their work offer various vantage points on and from Myanmar: Under what conditions are people living there? Is peaceful coexistence possible in Myanmar? What does the future look like for the Rohingya? These topics and more will be tackled by Philipp Abresch (Southeast Asia correspondent for ARD), Jürgen Webermann (South Asia correspondent for ARD), and Dr. Jasmin Lorch (Southeast Asia expert at the GIGA). The evening’s discussion will be moderated by Julia-Niharika Sen, presenter of NDR’s international news magazine Weltbilder.

    A summary of the event can be accessed in the NDR Mediathek (visual) and NDR Info’s Das Forum (audio).

    In the collaborative event series from NDR and the GIGA “Crossing Borders – Foreign Correspondents Connecting with Scholars” (“Grenzgänger – Auslandskorrespondenten treffen Wissenschaftler”), researchers and journalists discuss current events across the world, always including a perspective on how Germany and Hamburg are affected.

    © GIGA
    Video GIGA NDR Series "Crossing Borders" Terror against Muslims – Fleeing Myanmar on 04. June 2018
    © GIGA
    Video GIGA NDR Series "Crossing Borders" Terror against Muslims – Fleeing Myanmar on 04. June 2018

    Notification

    Sign up to receive email notifications about GIGA activities

    Social Media

    Follow us

GIGA NDR

Terror gegen Muslime – Flucht aus Myanmar

Datum

04.06.2018

Beginn

18:30 Uhr (MEZ)

1 / 8

  • Radikalisierung und religiöser Extremismus sind Phänomene, die viele zunächst mit dem Islam in Verbindung bringen. In Süd- und Südostasien sieht das Bild bisweilen anders aus. Gerade in Myanmar spielt der buddhistische Extremismus eine große Rolle. Hier werden muslimische Bevölkerungsgruppen terrorisiert, verfolgt und vertrieben. Selbst die Friedensikone Aung San Suu Kyi hat den Gewaltausbrüchen gegen Muslime bisher nichts entgegengesetzt. Der Konflikt mit den Rohingya – die derzeit als die am meisten verfolgte Minderheit der Welt gelten – findet in der restlichen Welt zu wenig Beachtung.

    Die persönlichen Erfahrungen der ReferentInnen vor Ort und die unterschiedlichen Ansätze ihrer Arbeit eröffnen Perspektiven auf und aus Myanmar: Wie geht es den Menschen dort? Ist friedliches Miteinander in Myanmar möglich? Welche Zukunft haben die Rohingya? Es berichten und diskutieren Philipp Abresch (ARD Südostasienkorrespondent), Jürgen Webermann (ARD Südasienkorrespondent) und Dr. Jasmin Lorch (Südostasien-Expertin am GIGA). Durch den Abend führt Julia-Niharika Sen, Moderatorin des NDR Auslandsmagazins „Weltbilder“.

    Eine Zusammenfassung der Veranstaltung können Sie in der NDR Mediathek sehen und bei NDR Info Das Forum hören.

    In der gemeinsamen Veranstaltungsreihe des NDR und des GIGA „Grenzgänger – Auslandskorrespondenten treffen Wissenschaftler“ diskutieren ForscherInnen und JournalistInnen über aktuelle Entwicklungen rund um die Welt, die immer auch Deutschland und Hamburg betreffen.

    © GIGA
    Video GIGA NDR Reihe "Grenzgänger" Terror against Muslims – Fleeing Myanmar am 04. Juni 2018
    © GIGA
    Video GIGA NDR Reihe "Grenzgänger" Terror against Muslims – Fleeing Myanmar am 04. Juni 2018

    Benachrichtigungen

    Melden Sie sich hier für E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen zu GIGA-Aktivitäten an

    Soziale Medien

    Folgen Sie uns