GIGA Forum

The GIGA Forum regularly presents research results and discusses both global trends and developments in the regions of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Middle East. It is tailored specifically at the interested public in Hamburg.


  • Video GIGA Forum - The War in Ukraine and the Global South: Perceptions, Reactions, and Implications
    Video GIGA Forum - The War in Ukraine and the Global South: Perceptions, Reactions, and Implications

    Coordinator GIGA Forum

    Dr. David Kuehn

    Senior Research Fellow / Coordinator GIGA Forum

    david.kuehn@giga-hamburg.de

    Videos of the series



    GIGA Forum | 17/05/2022

    The War in Ukraine and the Global South: Perceptions, Reactions, and Implications

    While most United Nations members quickly condemned Russia’s attack on Ukraine, a few actors in the Global South adopted a “neutral” stance. This GIGA Forum discusses how countries in Asia, Latin America, the Middle East, and sub-Saharan Africa perceive the war, are reacting to it, and what its consequences are for these states. Video now online!

    GIGA Forum | 26/01/2022

    Has America Come Back? President Biden’s Foreign Policy towards the Global South

    With the election of President Joe Biden, the world hoped for the United States’ return to diplomacy, multilateralism, and to a values-based foreign policy. In this GIGA Forum, experts examine US foreign policy in the first year of the Biden administration vis-à-vis Africa, Latin America, and the Middle East. Video of event now online.

    GIGA Forum | 19/01/2022

    With the Help of God(s)? Religious Actors and Sustainable Development in Africa

    Religious actors can both promote and undermine sustainable development. Many stakeholders and scholars recognise the relevant role of religious actors and place great hope in their potential. Alongside GIGA scholars, members of the “Africa Multiple” Cluster of Excellence from Universität Bayreuth discussed this topic in depth. Video of event now online!

    GIGA Forum | 11/01/2022

    Labour Migration in the Gulf – Building Wealth on Precarity

    Migrant workers live in precarious conditions in the Persian Gulf region. Migration regulations prevent naturalisation; for many, however, the region is a second home. This GIGA Forum offers analysis of the structural problems in the regional labour market and a discussion of the consequences for international cooperation.

    GIGA Forum | 17/11/2021

    Safeguarding the “Rules-based Order”? Europe Navigates the Shallow Waters of the Indo-Pacific

    Along with other European countries, Germany has also sent a warship, the frigate "Bayern", on a mission in the Indo-Pacific with the aim of securing “rules-based” international politics in the region. The experts of this GIGA Forum/GIGA Talk discuss the challenges of this mission. Video of event now online!

    The GIGA is taking the coronavirus situation very seriously. Until further notice, all our events take place exclusively in digital space and Team GIGA is working from home. We are pleased to be able to offer you all GIGA products without restriction.

    Notification

    Sign up to receive email notifications about GIGA activities

    Social Media

    Follow us

GIGA Forum

Das GIGA Forum präsentiert regelmäßig Forschungsergebnisse und diskutiert sowohl über globale Entwicklungen als auch Entwicklungen in den Regionen Afrika, Asien, Lateinamerika und Nahost. Es ist speziell auf die interessierte Öffentlichkeit in Hamburg zugeschnitten.


  • Video GIGA Forum - The War in Ukraine and the Global South: Perceptions, Reactions, and Implications
    Video GIGA Forum - The War in Ukraine and the Global South: Perceptions, Reactions, and Implications

    Koordinator GIGA Forum

    Dr. David Kuehn

    Senior Research Fellow / Koordinator GIGA Forum

    david.kuehn@giga-hamburg.de

    Videos der Reihe



    GIGA Forum | 17.05.2022

    Der Krieg in der Ukraine und der Globale Süden: Wahrnehmungen, Reaktionen und Implikationen

    Während die meisten UN-Mitglieder Russlands Angriff auf die Ukraine schnell verurteilten, nahmen einige wenige Akteure des Globalen Südens eine „neutrale“ Haltung ein. Dieses GIGA Forum erörtert, wie Länder Asiens, Lateinamerikas, des Nahen Ostens und Subsahara-Afrikas den Krieg wahrnehmen und welche Folgen dieser für sie hat. Video jetzt online!

    GIGA Forum | 26.01.2022

    Sind die USA zurück? Präsident Bidens Außenpolitik gegenüber dem Globalen Süden

    Mit der Wahl von US-Präsident Joe Biden hoffte die Welt auf eine Rückkehr zu Diplomatie, Multilateralismus und einer wertebasierten Außenpolitik. Bei diesem GIGA Forum untersuchen Expert:innen die US-Außenpolitik des ersten Jahres der Biden-Regierung gegenüber Afrika, Lateinamerika und dem Nahen Osten. Video der Veranstaltung verfügbar.

    GIGA Forum | 19.01.2022

    Mit Gottes Hilfe? Religiöse Akteure und nachhaltige Entwicklung in Afrika

    Religiöse Akteure können die nachhaltige Entwicklung sowohl fördern als auch untergraben. Viele Akteure erkennen die relevante Rolle religiöser Akteure und setzen große Hoffnungen in ihr Potenzial. Das Africa Multiple Cluster an der Universität Bayreuth und das GIGA diskutierte dieses Thema bei diesem GIGA Forum. Video der Veranstaltung verfügbar.

    GIGA Forum | 11.01.2022

    Arbeitsmigration in der Golfregion – Mit Prekarität Wohlstand aufbauen

    Arbeitsmigrant:innen leben in der Golfregion unter prekären Bedingungen. Migrationsregelungen verhindern eine Einbürgerung; für viele ist die Region jedoch eine zweite Heimat. Dieser GIGA Forum analysiert die strukturellen Probleme auf dem regionalen Arbeitsmarkt und diskutiert Konsequenzen für die internationale Zusammenarbeit.

    GIGA Forum | 17.11.2021

    Sicherung der „regelbasierten Ordnung“? Europa navigiert im Flachwasser des Indo-Pazifiks

    Neben anderen Ländern der EU hat auch Deutschland ein Kriegsschiff zu einem Einsatz im Indo-Pazifik entsandt, mit dem Ziel, die „regelbasierte Ordnung“ in der Region zu sichern. Die Expert:innen dieses GIGA Forum/GIGA Talk diskutieren die Herausforderungen dieser Mission. Video der Veranstaltung verfügbar.

    Das GIGA nimmt die Coronavirus-Situation sehr ernst. Alle unsere Veranstaltungen finden bis auf Weiteres ausschließlich im digitalen Raum statt und Team GIGA arbeitet von zuhause aus. Wir freuen uns, Ihnen ohne Einschränkung alle Produkte des GIGA anbieten zu können.

    Benachrichtigungen

    Melden Sie sich hier für E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen zu GIGA-Aktivitäten an

    Soziale Medien

    Folgen Sie uns