GIGA Talk

“If there is a ceasefire, people know the devil is coming”

Lessons for Ukraine from Syria’s Ceasefires

Date

12/05/2022

Start

04:00 p.m. (CET)

End

05:30 p.m. (CET)


  • Agreeing to a ceasefire that temporarily puts a halt to violence during wartime has generally been considered humanitarian and positive – or at worst, benign. However, as the quote from a local Syrian ceasefire negotiator in the title of this GIGA Talk suggests, an increasing amount of research and first-hand experience show that in fact the consequences of ceasefires can be diverse – and, frequently, not particularly positive.

    This GIGA Talk will bring together scholars as well as distinguished practitioners working on this topic to discuss how lessons from Syria and other conflict environments can offer insights and practical strategies regarding how ceasefires should and should not be negotiated in Ukraine.

    Speakers: Dr. Rim Turkmani is a Research Fellow at the Conflict and Civil Society Research Unit in the Department of International Development at the London School of Economics and Political Science.

    Dr. Marika Sosnowski is a Research Fellow at the GIGA Institute for Middle East Studies. Commentators: Dr. Benedetta Berti is Head of Policy Planning at NATO. Dr. Bente Scheller is Head of the MENA Division at the Heinrich Böll Foundation. Chair and Moderation: Dr. Christian von Soest is a Lead Research Fellow at the GIGA and Head of the GIGA Research Programme “Peace and Security.”


    Organiser

    Prof. Dr. Bert Hoffmann

    Lead Research Fellow / Head GIGA Berlin Office Editor GIGA Focus Latin America


    Location

    Online event

    Language

    English

    Registration

    We would like to ask you to register for this event. The registration is free of charge. You will receive your personal participation link and further information by e-mail before the online event starts. If you do not receive this email right before the event (please also check your spam folder), please contact us: events@giga-hamburg.de. By registering, you agree to the GIGA's data protection guidelines. We will update our data protection notice as necessary. You can find the current version at: https://www.giga-hamburg.de/en/data-protection.

    The GIGA is taking the coronavirus situation very seriously. Our events take place in the digital space or in hybrid format. Team GIGA is still working mainly from home. We are pleased to be able to offer you our products without restriction.

    Institutions for Peace

    To overcome war and violent conflicts, building and strengthening institutions for peace is crucial. This includes power-sharing governments, security sector reform and other processes. We investigate these and pay equal attention to institutions and processes that may obstruct peace.

    Notification

    Sign up to receive email notifications about GIGA activities

    Social Media

    Follow us

GIGA Talk

„If there is a ceasefire, people know the devil is coming“

Lehren für die Ukraine von den Waffenstillständen in Syrien

Datum

12.05.2022

Beginn

16:00 Uhr (MEZ)

Ende

17:30 Uhr (MEZ)

Video GIGA Talk - „If there is a ceasefire, people know the devil is coming“
1 / 3
Video GIGA Talk - „If there is a ceasefire, people know the devil is coming“

  • Die Vereinbarung eines Waffenstillstands, der die Gewalt während eines Krieges vorübergehend einstellt, wird im Allgemeinen als humanitär und positiv oder im schlimmsten Fall als gutartig angesehen. Wie das Zitat eines lokalen syrischen Verhandlungsführers für Waffenstillstände im Titel dieses Vortrags andeutet, zeigen jedoch immer mehr Forschungsergebnisse und Erfahrungen aus erster Hand, dass die Folgen von Waffenstillständen in der Tat vielfältig und häufig nicht besonders positiv sein können.

    In diesem Vortrag werden sowohl Wissenschaftler:innen als auch renommierte Vertreterinnen aus der Praxis, die sich mit diesem Thema befassen, diskutieren, inwieweit Lehren aus Syrien und anderen Konfliktregionen Erkenntnisse und praktische Strategien für die Verhandlung von Waffenstillständen in der Ukraine bieten können und inwieweit dies nicht der Fall sein sollte.

    Referent:innen: Dr. Rim Turkmani ist Research Fellow in der Conflict and Civil Society Research Unit in der Abteilung für internationale Entwicklung an der London School of Economics and Political Science. Dr. Marika Sosnowski ist Research Fellow am GIGA. Kommentator:innen: Dr. Benedetta Berti ist Leiterin der politischen Planung bei der NATO. Dr. Bente Scheller ist Leiterin des Bereichs MENA bei der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung. Chair und Moderation: Dr. Christian von Soest ist Lead Research Fellow am GIGA und Leiter des GIGA-Forschungsschwerpunkts „Frieden und Sicherheit“.


    Organisation

    Prof. Dr. Bert Hoffmann

    Lead Research Fellow / Leitung GIGA Berlin Büro Redaktion GIGA Focus Lateinamerika


    Adresse

    Online event

    Sprache

    Englisch

    Anmeldung

    Wir möchten Sie bitten, sich für diese Veranstaltung anzumelden. Die Anmeldung ist kostenlos. Sie erhalten Ihren persönlichen Teilnahme-Link und weitere Informationen per E-Mail vor Beginn der Online-Veranstaltung. Sollten Sie diese E-Mail nicht unmittelbar vor der Veranstaltung erhalten (bitte überprüfen Sie auch Ihren Spam-Ordner), wenden Sie sich bitte an uns: events@giga-hamburg.de. Mit der Anmeldung erklären Sie sich mit den Datenschutzrichtlinien des GIGA einverstanden. Wir werden unsere Datenschutzhinweise bei Bedarf aktualisieren. Die aktuelle Version finden Sie unter: https://www.giga-hamburg.de/de/datenschutz/.

    Wir bieten Ihnen unsere Veranstaltungen rein digital oder hybrid an. Dabei berücksichtigen wir stets die aktuelle Pandemie-Situation. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Teilnahme.

    Institutionen für den Frieden

    Um Krieg und gewaltsame Konflikte zu überwinden, ist der Aufbau und die Stärkung von Institutionen für den Frieden von entscheidender Bedeutung. Dazu gehören Power Sharing, die Reform des Sicherheitssektors und andere Prozesse. Wir untersuchen diese und schenken Institutionen und Prozessen, die den Frieden behindern können, ebenfalls Aufmerksamkeit.

    Armed Groups and International Law | 06.2020

    Regulating Ceasefires in the Grey Zone between War and Peace

    Dr. Marika Sosnowski

    Research Fellow

    Benachrichtigungen

    Melden Sie sich hier für E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen zu GIGA-Aktivitäten an

    Soziale Medien

    Folgen Sie uns