GIGA Talk

Climate Responsibilities of the “Great Powers”: Are they doing enough?

Date

04/05/2022

Start

04:00 p.m. (CET)

End

05:15 p.m. (CET)

Video GIGA Talk - Climate Responsibilities of the “Great Powers”: Are they doing enough?
1 / 3
Video GIGA Talk - Climate Responsibilities of the “Great Powers”: Are they doing enough?

  • The world is still not on track to meet the 1.5°C maximum warming target. “Great powers” play a crucial role in the international fight against climate change. The United States, China, the European Union, India, and Brazil have all pledged to mitigate their own greenhouse gas emissions and support adaptation worldwide – but are they doing enough?

    In this GIGA Talk, experts discuss what has or has not been achieved, how political entities justify their respective actions or inaction, and what is needed to overcome current limitations and loopholes.

    Speakers: Prof. Dr. Robert Falkner is an Associate Professor of International Relations at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE). He is also the Research Director of the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment.

    Prof. Dr. Kathryn Hochstetler is a Professor and Head of the Department of International Development at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE). She is an Associate Editor of the Journal of Politics in Latin America and sits on the editorial boards of Global Environmental Politics, Latin American Politics and Society, and Revista Brasileira de Política Internacional.

    Prof. Dr. Katja Biedenkopf is an Associate Professor of Sustainability Politics at Leuven International and European Studies (LINES), KU Leuven. She heads the Sustainable Futures research group within LINES.

    Dr. Miriam Prys-Hansen is a Lead Research Fellow at the GIGA and Head of the GIGA Research Programme “Global Orders and Foreign Policies.”

    Discussant: Dr. Franziska Brantner is State Secretary at the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action and has been a member of the German Bundestag since 2013.

    Moderation: Prof. Dr. Bert Hoffmann is a Lead Research Fellow at the GIGA, Head of the GIGA Berlin Office, and Editor of the GIGA Focus Latin America.


    Organiser

    Prof. Dr. Bert Hoffmann

    Lead Research Fellow / Head GIGA Berlin Office Editor GIGA Focus Latin America


    Location

    Online event

    Language

    English

    Registration

    We would like to ask you to register for this event. The registration is free of charge. You will receive your personal participation link and further information by e-mail before the online event starts. If you do not receive this email right before the event (please also check your spam folder), please contact us: events@giga-hamburg.de. By registering, you agree to the GIGA's data protection guidelines. We will update our data protection notice as necessary. You can find the current version at: https://www.giga-hamburg.de/en/data-protection.

    The GIGA is taking the coronavirus situation very seriously. Our events take place in the digital space or in hybrid format. Team GIGA is still working mainly from home. We are pleased to be able to offer you our products without restriction.

    Climate Change and the Global South

    We work on the politics of climate change. We investigate options to enable low and middle income countries to achieve lower-carbon trajectories without compromising economic development and poverty reduction and study the role of the Global South in international climate negotiations.

    GIGA Focus Latin America | 6/2021

    “Brazil must be back!” – But Real Climate Action Is Possible Only after Bolsonaro

    Brazil’s contribution to international climate protection is urgently needed, but during Bolsonaro’s presidency greenhouse gas emissions, support for agribusiness, and the repression of activists increased. Chances for a turnaround will come only with a change of president in the upcoming elections. An analysis.

    GIGA Focus Global | 7/2021

    Requirements for a Successful COP 26: Commitment, Responsibilities, Trust

    The agenda for the UN Climate Change Conference foresees the conclusion of negotiations on implementation rules for the Paris Agreement and the setting of more ambitious targets by the parties. The authors analyse the requirements for a successful COP 26 in Glasgow.

    Notification

    Sign up to receive email notifications about GIGA activities

    Social Media

    Follow us

GIGA Talk

Die Klimaverantwortung der „Großmächte“: Tun sie genug?

Datum

04.05.2022

Beginn

16:00 Uhr (MEZ)

Ende

17:15 Uhr (MEZ)

Video GIGA Talk - Climate Responsibilities of the “Great Powers”: Are they doing enough?
1 / 3
Video GIGA Talk - Climate Responsibilities of the “Great Powers”: Are they doing enough?

  • Die Welt ist immer noch nicht auf dem Weg, ihr 1,5°C-Ziel zu erreichen. „Großmächte“ spielen im internationalen Kampf gegen die globale Erwärmung eine entscheidende Rolle. Die USA, China, die EU, Indien und Brasilien haben sich verpflichtet, ihre eigenen Treibhausgasemissionen zu verringern und die Anpassung weltweit zu unterstützen – doch tun sie dafür genug?

    In diesem GIGA Talk setzen sich Expert:innen mit den Fragen auseinandersetzen, was erreicht wurde und was nicht, wie die Großmächte ihr Handeln oder ihre Untätigkeit rechtfertigen und was nötig ist, um die derzeitigen Beschränkungen und Schlupflöcher zu überwinden.

    Referent:innen: Prof. Dr. Robert Falkner ist Associate Professor der Internationalen Beziehungen an der London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) und Forschungsdirektor des Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment.

    Prof. Dr. Kathryn Hochstetler ist Professorin der Internationalen Beziehungen und leitet diesen Fachbereich an der London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE). Sie ist assoziierte Editorin des Journal of Politics in Latin America und Mitglied in den Redaktionsbeiräten der Global Environmental Politics, Latin American Politics and Society, und Revista Brasileira de Política Internacional.

    Prof. Dr. Katja Biedenkopf ist Associate Professor für Nachhaltigkeitspolitik bei LINES (Leuven International and European Studies) der KU Leuven und leitet dort die Forschungsgruppe „Sustainable Futures“.

    Dr. Miriam Prys-Hansen ist Lead Research Fellow am GIGA und Leiterin des GIGA Forschungsschwerpunkts „Globale Ordnungen und Außenpolitiken“.

    Kommentatorin: Dr. Franziska Brantner ist Parlamentarische Staatssekretärin im Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz und seit 2013 Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestags.

    Moderation: Prof. Dr. Bert Hoffmann ist Lead Research Fellow, Leiter des GIGA Berlin Büros und Editor des GIGA Focus Lateinamerika.


    Organisation

    Prof. Dr. Bert Hoffmann

    Lead Research Fellow / Leitung GIGA Berlin Büro Redaktion GIGA Focus Lateinamerika


    Adresse

    Online event

    Sprache

    Englisch

    Anmeldung

    Wir möchten Sie bitten, sich für diese Veranstaltung anzumelden. Die Anmeldung ist kostenlos. Sie erhalten Ihren persönlichen Teilnahme-Link und weitere Informationen per E-Mail vor Beginn der Online-Veranstaltung. Sollten Sie diese E-Mail nicht unmittelbar vor der Veranstaltung erhalten (bitte überprüfen Sie auch Ihren Spam-Ordner), wenden Sie sich bitte an uns: events@giga-hamburg.de. Mit der Anmeldung erklären Sie sich mit den Datenschutzrichtlinien des GIGA einverstanden. Wir werden unsere Datenschutzhinweise bei Bedarf aktualisieren. Die aktuelle Version finden Sie unter: https://www.giga-hamburg.de/de/datenschutz/.

    Wir bieten Ihnen unsere Veranstaltungen rein digital oder hybrid an. Dabei berücksichtigen wir stets die aktuelle Pandemie-Situation. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Teilnahme.

    Klimapolitik und der globale Süden

    Wir arbeiten zur Politik des Klimawandels. Dabei untersuchen wir, wie Länder mit niedrigem und mittlerem Einkommen kohlenstoffärmere Pfade einschlagen können, ohne die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung sowie die Armutsbekämpfung zu gefährden, und welche Rolle Länder des Globalen Südens in internationalen Klimaverhandlungen einnehmen.

    GIGA Focus Lateinamerika | 6/2021

    "Brasilien muss wieder da sein!" – Aber effektiver Klimaschutz ist erst nach Bolsonaro möglich

    Brasiliens Beitrag zum internationalen Klimaschutz ist dringend notwendig, doch während der Präsidentschaft Bolsonaros stiegen die Treibhausgasemissionen, die Regierung unterstützte die Agrarindustrie und unterdrückte Aktivisten. Eine Trendwende ist nur mit einem Präsidentschaftswechsel möglich. Eine Analyse.

    Anna Fünfgeld

    Doctoral Researcher

    GIGA Focus Global | 7/2021

    Anforderungen für eine erfolgreiche COP 26: Verpflichtung, Verantwortung, Vertrauen

    Die Agenda für die UN-Klimakonferenz sieht vor, die Verhandlungen zur Umsetzung des Pariser Abkommens abzuschließen und ambitioniertere Ziele zu vereinbaren. Die Autor:innen analysieren die Voraussetzungen für eine erfolgreiche COP 26 in Glasgow.

    Dr. Miriam Prys-Hansen

    Lead Research Fellow / Leitung Forschungsschwerpunkt "Globale Ordnungen und Außenpolitiken"

    Jan Klenke

    Doctoral Researcher

    Benachrichtigungen

    Melden Sie sich hier für E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen zu GIGA-Aktivitäten an

    Soziale Medien

    Folgen Sie uns