GIGA NDR Series "Crossing Borders"

Uprising Against Those in Power – Upheaval in the Middle East

Date

16/11/2020

Start

06:00 p.m. (CET)

End

07:00 p.m. (CET)


  • People in the Middle East have been demonstrating for months now. Anger is targeted at their governments, who often react very harshly to these protests. The causes of this discontent are as diverse as the countries of the region themselves. In Lebanon and Iraq, an end to mismanagement and corruption is sought. Those who gain from the entrenched sectarian system in both countries as well as the privileges of old elites are being contested. The road that this system leads down was revealed by the explosion in the Port of Beirut in August of this year. In Iran, despite extensive intimidation, the middle class now also dares to take to the street. In Jordan, price increases and strikes by teachers would be the triggers for protest. In Syria, people are putting up a fight against the dictatorship and hunger is rife. The survival impulse takes prominence.

    Are we witnessing historic upheaval? What does it say about the rights of the people? What role is played by external influences, like the Middle East policy of United States president Donald Trump, and by the various interest groups on the ground?

    These and other themes will be discussed by Natalie Amiri (ARD Iran expert), Björn Blaschke (Head of the ARD Radio Studio in Cairo), and Dr. André Bank (Senior Research Fellow and Middle East expert at the GIGA). Julia-Niharika Sen (presenter of the NDR foreign affairs broadcast “Weltbilder”) will oversee the event.

    The event will be broadcast exclusively online. If you register, you will receive further information by email before the online event begins.

    A summary of the event will later be available via the NDR Mediathek, at NDR Info "Das Forum" on Tuesday, 24 November 2020 at 8:30 p.m. and at Tagesschau24 on Friday, 20 November 2020 at 10:30 p.m.

    Language

    German

    The GIGA is taking the coronavirus situation very seriously. Until further notice, all our events take place exclusively in digital space and Team GIGA is working from home. We are pleased to be able to offer you all GIGA products without restriction.

    Notification

    Sign up to receive email notifications about GIGA activities

    Social Media

    Follow us

GIGA-NDR-Reihe "Grenzgänger"

Aufstand gegen die Machthaber – Umbruch im Nahen Osten

Datum

16.11.2020

Beginn

18:00 Uhr (MEZ)

Ende

19:00 Uhr (MEZ)


  • Die Menschen im Nahen Osten demonstrieren seit Monaten. Ihre Wut richtet sich gegen ihre Regierungen, die häufig brutal auf diese Proteste reagieren. So unterschiedlich die Länder der Region, so unterschiedlich sind die Anliegen der Bevölkerung. Im Libanon und Irak soll das Ende von Misswirtschaft und Korruption herbeigeführt werden. Angefochten werden die Profiteure des festgeschriebenen konfessionellen Systems und die Privilegien alter Eliten. Wohin dieses System führt, hat auch die Explosion im Hafen von Beirut im August gezeigt. Im Iran traut sich trotz massiver Einschüchterungsversuche nun auch die Mittelschicht auf die Straße. In Jordanien sind Preiserhöhungen und Lehrerstreiks der Auslöser der Demonstrationen. In Syrien setzt man sich gegen die Diktatur zur Wehr und es herrscht Hunger. Die Sorge ums Überleben steht im Vordergrund.

    Erleben wir einen historischen Umbruch? Wie steht es um die Rechte der Menschen? Welche Rolle spielen externe Einflüsse, wie die Nahost-Politik von US-Präsident Donald Trump, sowie die Interessen der verschiedenen Akteure vor Ort?

    Diese und weitere Themen diskutieren Natalie Amiri (ARD Iran-Expertin), Björn Blaschke (Leiter des ARD-Hörfunk-Studios in Kairo) und Dr. André Bank (Senior Research Fellow und Nahostexperte am GIGA). Durch die Veranstaltung führt Julia-Niharika Sen (Moderatorin des NDR Auslandsmagazins „Weltbilder“). Die Veranstaltung wird ausschließlich online übertragen. Wenn Sie sich anmelden, erhalten Sie vor Beginn der Online-Veranstaltung weitere Informationen per E-Mail.

    Eine Zusammenfassung der Veranstaltung finden Sie in der NDR Mediathek, bei NDR Info „Das Forum“ am Dienstag, 24. November 2020 um 20:30 Uhr und bei Tagesschau24 am Freitag, 20. November 2020 um 22:30 Uhr.

    Ort

    Online-Veranstaltung

    Sprache

    Deutsch

    Das GIGA nimmt die Coronavirus-Situation sehr ernst. Alle unsere Veranstaltungen finden bis auf Weiteres ausschließlich im digitalen Raum statt und Team GIGA arbeitet von zuhause aus. Wir freuen uns, Ihnen ohne Einschränkung alle Produkte des GIGA anbieten zu können.

    Benachrichtigungen

    Melden Sie sich hier für E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen zu GIGA-Aktivitäten an

    Soziale Medien

    Folgen Sie uns