GIGA Berlin Office


  • In keeping with the motto "theoria cum praxi," the GIGA is committed to practice-relevant research and close exchange with the public and decision makers. The GIGA Berlin Office, located in the heart of the capital, is dedicated to knowledge transfer with Berlin-based political, civil society, academic, and media institutions. Through the GIGA Talks series, the Berlin office shares the results of the GIGA’s research and its regional expertise on global trends and current events in Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Middle East.


    Location

    Friedrichstraße 206 (Eingang Zimmerstraße) 10969 Berlin Phone: +49 (0)30 - 250 40 985 Fax: +49 (0)30 - 531 67 575 Email: berlin@giga-hamburg.de

    Head

    Prof. Dr. Bert Hoffmann

    Lead Research Fellow / Head GIGA Berlin Office Editor GIGA Focus Latin America

    bert.hoffmann@giga-hamburg.de

    Secretariat

    Natalia del Carmen Eduardo

    Formerly Coordinator GIGA Berlin Office & GIGA Talks Berlin


    GIGA Talk | 01/12/2022

    Towards Closer Cooperation with South Korea in the Indo-Pacific

    The European Union and Germany are implementing strategies for cooperation in the Indo-Pacific. How does South Korea fit into the picture? In this GIGA Talk, we will present and discuss findings from a collaborative, policy-oriented research project examining the potential scope for closer cooperation therewith.

    GIGA Talk | 27/10/2022

    Iran: Pivot to the East amidst Domestic Repression

    As protests and human rights violations prevail in Iran, the Islamic Republic continues to orient itself towards the east, stepping up its relations with China, Russia, and India. This GIGA Talk seeks to shed light on this key strategic turn.

    GIGA Talk | 25/10/2022

    Brazil’s Run-off Elections: Democracy at Risk

    Brazil, one of Global South’s largest democracies, is heading for the decisive second round of its presidential elections on Sunday 30 October. However, incumbent President Jair Bolsonaro has repeatedly threatened not to accept the vote if he should lose. At this GIGA Talk, we will discuss the consequences for Brazil and its relationship with Europe. Video now online!

    Notification

    Sign up to receive email notifications about GIGA activities

    Social Media

    Follow us

GIGA Berlin Büro


  • Gemäß dem Motto "Theoria cum Praxi" ist das GIGA einer praxisrelevanten Forschung sowie dem engen Austausch mit der Öffentlichkeit und Entscheidungsträger:innen verpflichtet. Das GIGA Berlin Büro im Herzen der Hauptstadt dient dem Wissenstransfer und der Vernetzung mit in Berlin ansässigen Institutionen aus Politik, Gesellschaft, Wissenschaft und Medien. In der Reihe GIGA Talk präsentiert das Berlin-Büro die Ergebnisse der Forschung und Regionalexpertise des GIGA zu globalen Trends sowie zu aktuellen Entwicklungen in Afrika, Asien, Lateinamerika und Nahost.


    Standort

    Friedrichstraße 206 (Eingang Zimmerstraße) | 10969 Berlin Tel.: +49 (0)30 - 250 40 985 Fax: +49 (0)30 - 531 67 575 E-Mail: berlin@giga-hamburg.de

    Leitung

    Prof. Dr. Bert Hoffmann

    Lead Research Fellow / Leitung GIGA Berlin Büro Redaktion GIGA Focus Lateinamerika

    bert.hoffmann@giga-hamburg.de

    Sekretariat

    Natalia del Carmen Eduardo

    Vormals Koordinatorin GIGA Berlin Büro & GIGA Gespräche Berlin


    GIGA Talk | 01.12.2022

    Der Weg zur engeren Zusammenarbeit mit Südkorea im indopazifischen Raum

    Die Europäische Union und Deutschland entwickeln Strategien für die Zusammenarbeit im indopazifischen Raum. Wie passt Südkorea in dieses Bild? In diesem GIGA Talk werden die Ergebnisse eines Forschungsprojekts vorgestellt und diskutiert, das die Potenziale für eine engere Zusammenarbeit untersucht.

    GIGA Talk | 27.10.2022

    Iran wendet sich gen Osten inmitten innenpolitischer Repression

    Während im Iran Proteste und Menschenrechtsverletzungen an der Tagesordnung sind, orientiert sich die Islamische Republik weiter nach Osten und intensiviert ihre Beziehungen zu China, Russland und Indien. Bei dem GIGA Talk wird diese strategische Wende beleuchtet.

    GIGA Talk | 25.10.2022

    Brasiliens Stichwahlen: Demokratie in Gefahr

    Brasilien, eine der größten Demokratien des Globalen Südens, geht am 30.10. in die zweite Runde seiner Präsidentschaftswahlen. Amtsinhaber Jair Bolsonaro hat wiederholt gedroht, die Wahl nicht anzunehmen, falls er verlieren sollte. Im GIGA Talk diskutieren wir die Folgen für Brasilien und das Verhältnis zu Europa. Video jetzt online!

    Benachrichtigungen

    Melden Sie sich hier für E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen zu GIGA-Aktivitäten an

    Soziale Medien

    Folgen Sie uns