GIGA NDR Series “Crossing Borders”


  • Through the “Crossing Borders – Foreign Correspondents Connecting with Scholars” series, researchers and journalists come together to discuss current developments around the world that also impact Germany and Hamburg. The event series was jointly created by the GIGA and the Norddeutscher Rundfunk (NDR) to provide interested members of the public with more background information about current events. The GIGA and its scholars contribute their expertise on the various world regions and on social, economic, and political upheavals; the NDR brings its years of overseas experience gained through its many foreign correspondents in both radio and television. The NDR is a public radio and television broadcaster based in Hamburg, and its programmes reach millions of people in Germany. As a member of the ARD consortium, it runs or contributes to Das Erste, Phoenix, Arte, 3Sat, and Tagesschau, amongst others.

    Coordinator

    Verena Schweiger

    Head of Communications Department

    T. +49 (0)40 - 428 25-770verena.schweiger@giga-hamburg.de


    GIGA NDR Series "Crossing Borders" | 16/11/2020

    Uprising Against Those in Power – Upheaval in the Middle East

    People in the Middle East have been demonstrating for months now. Anger is targeted at their governments, who often react very harshly to these protests. Are we witnessing historic upheaval? Natalie Amiri (ARD Iran expert), Björn Blaschke (Head of the ARD Radio Studio in Cairo), Dr. André Bank (Senior Research Fellow and Middle East expert at the GIGA), and moderator Julia-Niharika Sen (NDR foreign affairs broadcast “Weltbilder”) will discuss this issue.

    GIGA NDR | 19/08/2019

    Power Struggle in Venezuela: Which Way Out of the Crisis?

    One of the worst logistical and indeed state crises in the history of the country has plunged large parts of the population into poverty and further destabilised an ailing political system. How, then, can Venezuela find its way out of this crisis? Moderator Julia-Niharika Sen (of the NDR TV programme Weltbilder) will discuss this question with Prof. Dr. Sabine Kurtenbach (Acting Director of the GIGA Institute for Latin American Studies), Xenia Böttcher (ARD correspondent), and Kai Küstner (NDR, former ARD correspondent).

    GIGA NDR | 29/05/2019

    In God's Name: Religion and Violence in Africa

    Religion – Christianity, Islam, or mixed forms with a range of traditional beliefs – is a central element of cultural life in many African countries. The extent to which religion is the trigger for violent conflicts in African countries and what other factors play a role will be discussed by moderator Julia-Niharika Sen, Prof. Dr. Matthias Basedau, Caroline Hoffmann, and Jens Borchers.

    GIGA NDR | 04/06/2018

    Terror against Muslims – Fleeing Myanmar

    In the collaborative event series from NDR and the GIGA “Crossing Borders – Foreign Correspondents Connecting with Scholars” (“Grenzgänger – Auslandskorrespondenten treffen Wissenschaftler”), researchers and journalists discuss current events across the world, always including a perspective on how Germany and Hamburg are affected. Video of the event available.

    The GIGA is taking the coronavirus situation very seriously. Until further notice, all our events take place exclusively in digital space and Team GIGA is working from home. We are pleased to be able to offer you all GIGA products without restriction.

    Notification

    Sign up to receive email notifications about GIGA activities

    Social Media

    Follow us

GIGA-NDR-Reihe "Grenzgänger"


  • Bei Veranstaltungen unserer Kooperationsreihe mit dem NDR „Grenzgänger – Auslandskorrespondenten treffen Wissenschaftler“ kommen Forschende und Journalist:innen zusammen, um aktuelle Entwicklungen weltweit zu diskutieren, die sich auch auf Deutschland und Hamburg auswirken. Die Veranstaltungsreihe wurde gemeinsam vom GIGA und dem Norddeutschen Rundfunk (NDR) entwickelt, um der interessierten Öffentlichkeit mehr Hintergrundinformationen zu aktuellen Ereignissen zu geben. Das GIGA und seine Wissenschaftler:innen bieten ihre Expertise zu den unterschiedlichen Weltregionen sowie zu sozialen, wirtschaftlichen und politischen Umwälzungen; der NDR bringt seine jahrelange Übersee-Erfahrung ein, die seine Auslandskorrespondent:innen für Radio und Fernsehen gesammelt haben. Der NDR ist eine öffentliche Rundfunkanstalt aus Hamburg. Seine Programme erreichen Millionen von Menschen in Deutschland. Als Mitglied des ARD-Verbunds ist er u.a. an Das Erste, Phoenix, Arte, 3Sat und Tagesschau beteiligt.

    Koordinatorin

    Verena Schweiger

    Leitung Fachabteilung Kommunikation

    T. +49 (0)40 - 428 25-770verena.schweiger@giga-hamburg.de


    GIGA-NDR-Reihe "Grenzgänger" | 16.11.2020

    Aufstand gegen die Machthaber – Umbruch im Nahen Osten

    Die Menschen im Nahen Osten demonstrieren seit Monaten. Ihre Wut richtet sich gegen ihre Regierungen, die häufig brutal auf diese Proteste reagieren. Erleben wir einen historischen Umbruch? Darüber diskutieren Natalie Amiri (ARD Iran-Expertin), Björn Blaschke (Leiter des ARD-Hörfunk-Studios in Kairo), Dr. André Bank (Senior Research Fellow und Nahostexperte am GIGA) und Moderatorin Julia-Niharika Sen (NDR Auslandsmagazin „Weltbilder“).

    GIGA NDR | 19.08.2019

    Machtkampf in Venezuela - Welcher Weg führt aus der Krise?

    Eine der schlimmsten Versorgungs- und Staatskrisen in der Geschichte des Landes stürzt große Teile der Bevölkerung in Armut und destabilisiert das marode politische System weiter. Welcher Weg könnte für Venezuela aus der Krise führen? Darüber diskutiert Moderatorin Julia-Niharika Sen (NDR Auslandsmagazin „Weltbilder“) mit Prof. Dr. Sabine Kurtenbach (Komm. Direktorin des GIGA Instituts für Lateinamerika-Studien), Xenia Böttcher (ARD-Korrespondentin) und Kai Küstner (NDR, ehem. ARD-Korrespondent).

    GIGA NDR | 29.05.2019

    In Gottes Namen: Religion und Gewalt in Afrika

    Religion – ob Christentum, Islam oder Mischformen mit einer Vielzahl traditioneller Glaubensrichtungen – ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil des kulturellen Lebens in vielen afrikanischen Ländern. Inwieweit die Religion Auslöser für gewaltsame Konflikte in afrikanischen Ländern ist und welche anderen Faktoren eine Rolle spielen, darüber diskutiert Moderatorin Julia-Niharika Sen mit Prof. Dr. Matthias Basedau, Caroline Hoffman und Jens Borchers.

    GIGA NDR | 04.06.2018

    Terror gegen Muslime – Flucht aus Myanmar

    In der gemeinsamen Veranstaltungsreihe des NDR und des GIGA „Grenzgänger – Auslandskorrespondenten treffen Wissenschaftler“ diskutieren ForscherInnen und JournalistInnen über aktuelle Entwicklungen rund um die Welt, die immer auch Deutschland und Hamburg betreffen. Video der Veranstaltung verfügbar.

    GIGA NDR | 08.11.2017

    Krise ohne Ausweg? Nordkorea und die Bombe

    In der gemeinsamen Veranstaltungsreihe des NDR und des GIGA „Grenzgänger – Auslandskorrespondenten treffen Wissenschaftler“ diskutieren ForscherInnen und JournalistInnen über aktuelle Entwicklungen rund um die Welt, die immer auch Deutschland und Hamburg betreffen.

    Das GIGA nimmt die Coronavirus-Situation sehr ernst. Alle unsere Veranstaltungen finden bis auf Weiteres ausschließlich im digitalen Raum statt und Team GIGA arbeitet von zuhause aus. Wir freuen uns, Ihnen ohne Einschränkung alle Produkte des GIGA anbieten zu können.

    Benachrichtigungen

    Melden Sie sich hier für E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen zu GIGA-Aktivitäten an

    Soziale Medien

    Folgen Sie uns