Cooperation Event

Forging Bonds with Emigrants: Challenges for Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean

Date

19/09/2017 - 20/09/2017

Start

08:30 a.m. (CET)


  • Europe, Latin America, and the Caribbean are world regions with rich and complex migration histories. In a new era of transnationalism, they are increasingly facing the challenge of developing new policies that both recognise and protect emigrants’ rights while also allowing emigrants to have a say in the direction their home countries take. Nation states take a wide range of approaches to develop these links between emigrants and policies, reflecting their own traditions and goals.

    Bringing together leading policymakers, scholars, and civil society representatives from the European Union, Latin America, and the Caribbean, the seminar seeks to promote exchange, knowledge transfer, and learning within and across the EU and LAC regions on policies towards migrants.

    • In four roundtables, innovative, forward-looking research findings, as well as examples of innovative policies and good practices from Latin America, the Caribbean, and the EU, will be discussed and showcased.

    • At their book presentation “Emigrant Policies in Latin America and the Caribbean,” GIGA scholars will present their systematic analysis of 22 emigrant policies across Latin America and the Caribbean.

    Seating is limited; please register early to avoid disappointment.

    Opening ceremony of the Latin American and Caribbean Fall Festival and the seminar


    Organiser

    Notification

    Sign up to receive email notifications about GIGA activities

    Social Media

    Follow us

Kooperationsveranstaltung

Forging Bonds with Emigrants: Challenges for Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean

Datum

19.09.2017 - 20.09.2017

Beginn

08:30 Uhr (MEZ)


  • Europa, Lateinamerika und die Karibik sind Weltregionen mit einer vielfältigen und komplexen Migrationsgeschichte. Im neuen Zeitalter des Transnationalismus stehen sie zunehmend vor der Herausforderung, neue politische Programme zu entwickeln, die die Rechte von Auswanderern anerkennen und ihnen gleichzeitig eine Mitsprache in ihren Heimatländern ermöglichen. Nationalstaaten verfolgen unterschiedliche Ansätze, um diese Verbindung zwischen EmigrantInnen und politischen Programmen herzustellen, angelehnt an ihre eigenen Traditionen und Ziele.

    Die Konferenz der EU-LAC Stiftung und des GIGA bringt führende politische EntscheiderInnen, WissenschaftlerInnen und RepräsentantInnen der Zivilgesellschaft aus der EU, Lateinamerika und der Karibik an einen Tisch, um den Austausch, den Wissenstransfer und Lernprozesse hinsichtlich der Politikgestaltung von Migration zu fördern.

    • Vier Expertenrunden bieten Gelegenheit, innovative Forschungserkenntnisse und Beispiele für Gute Praktiken zur Auswanderungspolitik aus Lateinamerika, der Karibik und der EU vorzustellen und zu diskutieren.

    • WissenschaftlerInnen des GIGA werden bei der Buchpräsentation „Emigrant Policies in Latin America and the Caribbean“ ihre systematische Analyse der Auswandererpolitik von 22 Staaten in Lateinamerika und der Karibik vorstellen.

    Die Anzahl der Plätze ist begrenzt; bitte melden Sie sich rechtzeitig an.

    Eröffnungsveranstaltung des Lateinamerika- und Karibik-Herbsts und der Konferenz


    Organisation

    Benachrichtigungen

    Melden Sie sich hier für E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen zu GIGA-Aktivitäten an

    Soziale Medien

    Folgen Sie uns