GIGA Forum

The War in Ukraine and the Global South: Perceptions, Reactions, and Implications

Date

17/05/2022

Start

04:30 p.m. (CET)

End

06:00 p.m. (CET)

Video GIGA Forum - The War in Ukraine and the Global South: Perceptions, Reactions, and Implications
1 / 3
Video GIGA Forum - The War in Ukraine and the Global South: Perceptions, Reactions, and Implications

  • When Russian forces invaded Ukraine on 24 February 2022, there was an almost immediate international response. Not only were NATO members quick to condemn Russia’s aggression and pledge material and moral support to Ukraine. On 2 March 2022, an overwhelming majority of members of the United Nations General Assembly passed a resolution demanding Russia stop its offensive and immediately withdraw all troops.

    However, neither the outrage against the Russian invasion nor the coordinated activities by mainly Western countries to support the Ukrainian war effort and sanction Russia were universally shared. Non-Western powers such as China, India, and South Africa abstained from the UN vote, while others like Brazil and Saudi-Arabia maintain a self-declared “neutral” stance. At the same time, the war and the sanctions regime imposed on Russia have raised fears of disruptions to international economic supply lines – with stark implications for food and energy security across the globe.

    This GIGA Forum focuses on the perceptions and consequences of, as well as reactions to, the war in Ukraine in countries of Asia, Latin America, the Middle East, and sub-Saharan Africa: How much of an epochal change does the war signify for these regions? How will the war affect the Global South more broadly? Are there pronounced regional differences in these regards?

    Speakers: Prof. Dr. Matthias Basedau is Director of the GIGA Institute for African Affairs.

    Prof. Dr. Heike Holbig is a Senior Research Fellow at the GIGA Institute for Asian Studies.

    Prof. Dr. Víctor M. Mijares is Assistant Professor at the Universidad de los Andes, Colombia.

    Dr. Johannes Plagemann is a Research Fellow at the GIGA Institute for Asian Studies.

    Prof. Dr. Eckart Woertz is Director of the GIGA Institute for Middle East Studies.

    Moderation: Dr. David Kuehn is a Senior Research Fellow at the GIGA, and academic coordinator of the GIGA Forum series.


    Organiser

    Dr. David Kuehn

    Senior Research Fellow / Coordinator GIGA Forum


    Location

    Online Event

    Language

    English

    The GIGA is taking the coronavirus situation very seriously. Our events take place in the digital space or in hybrid format. Team GIGA is still working mainly from home. We are pleased to be able to offer you our products without restriction.

    Notification

    Sign up to receive email notifications about GIGA activities

    Social Media

    Follow us

GIGA Forum

Der Krieg in der Ukraine und der Globale Süden: Wahrnehmungen, Reaktionen und Implikationen

Datum

17.05.2022

Beginn

16:30 Uhr (MEZ)

Ende

18:00 Uhr (MEZ)

Video GIGA Forum - The War in Ukraine and the Global South: Perceptions, Reactions, and Implications
1 / 3
Video GIGA Forum - The War in Ukraine and the Global South: Perceptions, Reactions, and Implications

  • Als die russischen Streitkräfte am 24. Februar 2022 in die Ukraine einmarschierten, gab es eine nahezu sofortige internationale Reaktion. Nicht nur die NATO-Mitglieder verurteilten schnell die russische Aggression und sagten der Ukraine materielle und moralische Unterstützung zu. Am 2. März 2022 verabschiedete die Generalversammlung der Vereinten Nationen mit überwältigender Mehrheit eine Resolution, in der Russland aufgefordert wurde, seine Offensive zu beenden und alle Truppen unverzüglich abzuziehen.

    Doch weder die Empörung über die russische Invasion noch die koordinierten Aktivitäten vor allem der westlichen Länder zur Unterstützung der Ukraine und zur Sanktionierung Russlands wurden allgemein geteilt. Nicht-westliche Mächte wie China, Indien und Südafrika enthielten sich bei der UN-Abstimmung, während andere, wie Brasilien und Saudi-Arabien, eine selbsterklärte „neutrale“ Haltung einnahmen. Gleichzeitig haben der Krieg und die gegen Russland verhängten Sanktionen die Befürchtung geweckt, dass die internationalen wirtschaftlichen Lieferketten unterbrochen werden könnten, was sich auf die weltweite Lebensmittel- und Energiesicherheit auswirken würde.

    Dieses GIGA Forum befasst sich mit den Wahrnehmungen, Folgen und Reaktionen auf den Krieg in der Ukraine in Ländern Asiens, Lateinamerikas, des Nahen Ostens und Subsahara-Afrikas: Inwieweit bedeutet der Krieg eine epochale Veränderung für diese Regionen? Wie wird sich der Krieg auf den Globalen Süden auswirken? Gibt es ausgeprägte regionale Unterschiede?

    Referent:innen: Prof. Dr. Matthias Basedau ist Direktor des GIGA Instituts für Afrika-Studien.

    Prof. Dr. Heike Holbig ist Senior Research Fellow am GIGA Institut für Asien-Studien.

    Prof. Dr. Víctor M. Mijares ist Assistant Professor an der Universidad de los Andes, Colombia.

    Dr. Johannes Plagemann ist Research Fellow am GIGA Institut für Asien-Studien.

    Prof. Dr. Eckart Woertz ist Direktor des GIGA Instituts für Nahost-Studien.

    Moderation: Dr. David Kuehn ist Senior Research Fellow am GIGA und wissenschaftlicher Koordinator der GIGA-Forum-Reihe.


    Organisation

    Dr. David Kuehn

    Senior Research Fellow / Koordinator GIGA Forum


    Adresse

    Online Event

    Sprache

    Englisch

    Wir bieten Ihnen unsere Veranstaltungen rein digital oder hybrid an. Dabei berücksichtigen wir stets die aktuelle Pandemie-Situation. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Teilnahme.

    Benachrichtigungen

    Melden Sie sich hier für E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen zu GIGA-Aktivitäten an

    Soziale Medien

    Folgen Sie uns