GIGA Talk

Towards Closer Cooperation with South Korea in the Indo-Pacific

Date

01/12/2022

Start

09:00 a.m. (CET)

End

10:15 a.m. (CET)


  • With the administration of President Yoon Suk-yeol moving ever closer to embracing the Indo-Pacific as a strategic space, the scope widens for closer collaboration between the European Union and Germany on the one hand and the Republic of Korea on the other. Both the EU and Germany are implementing inclusive strategies for cooperation in the Indo-Pacific. South Korea is a very suitable partner for such cooperation given that it is one of the few liberal democracies in the Indo-Pacific and a champion of multilateralism. The Republic of Korea is also home to the world’s tenth-largest economy. South Korean companies manufacture high-tech products, including advanced semiconductors, making them critical partners in the quest for more resilient supply chains.

    This GIGA Talk will share findings from a collaborative, Korea Foundation-sponsored research project between the GIGA and the East Asia Institute in Seoul "Engaging the Indo-Pacific: German and Korean Perspectives on Regional Cooperation." We will first take stock of the achievements, especially in the economic arena, on which closer collaboration between Seoul, Berlin, and Brussels in the Indo-Pacific and beyond can build. We argue that more can be done in the political and strategic realms, including joint efforts to revive multilateralism and intensifying exchange on regional security issues. South Korea’s central location in the East Asian region, its alliance with the United States, and its rich but ambivalent ties with China make the country a particularly interesting partner for in-depth cooperation on issues of strategic and indeed global importance.

    Speakers:  Prof. Dr. Patrick Köllner is Vice President of the GIGA, Director of the GIGA Institute for Asian Studies, and a Professor at the Universität Hamburg.

    Dr. Johannes Plagemann is a Research Fellow at the GIGA Institute for Asian Studies.

    Dr. Christian Wirth is a Research Fellow at the GIGA Institute for Asian Studies.

    Discussants: Prof. Dr. Yul Sohn is President of the East Asia Institute, a Professor at Yonsei University, and Advisor to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Seoul.

    Prof. Dr. Sook Jong Lee is President Emeritus and Senior Fellow of the East Asia Institute and a Professor at Sungkyunkwan University, Seoul.

    Prof. Dr. Chaesung Chun is Chair of the National Security Center of the East Asia Institute, a Professor at Seoul National University, and Advisor to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Seoul.

    Ambassador Dr. Martin Thümmel is Deputy Director General for East Asia, Southeast Asia, and the Pacific at the Federal Foreign Office, Berlin.

    Moderator: Prof. Dr. Heike Holbig is a Senior Research Fellow at the GIGA Institute for Asian Studies and Editor of the GIGA Focus Asia, as well as Chair for East Asian Politics at the Faculty of Social Sciences, Goethe University, Frankfurt am Main.


    Organiser

    Prof. Dr. Bert Hoffmann

    Lead Research Fellow / Head GIGA Berlin Office Editor GIGA Focus Latin America


    We offer our events digitally or in hybrid setting. We monitor the current pandemic situation and act accordingly. We look forward to your participation.

    Research Project | 01/01/2022 - 31/12/2022

    Engaging the Indo-Pacific: German and Korean Perspectives on Regional Cooperation

    A policy-oriented research project bringing together the GIGA and the East Asia Institute in Seoul. The project aims at analysing German/EU and Korean strategies for Indo-Pacific engagement and identifying areas for in-depth consultation, coordination and cooperation.
    Korea Foundation, 2022

    Prof. Dr. Sook-Jong Lee

    Prof. Dr. Yul Sohn

    Prof. Dr. Chaesung Chun

    Lecture Series | 30/11/2022

    Franco-German Observatory of the Indo-Pacific

    The Franco-German Observatory invites key actors from the Indo-Pacific to discuss questions of a strategic nature, of economic interdependence and independence, and the expectations the countries of the Indo-Pacific might have towards the “West”.

    Multilateralism

    Multilateralism and global institutions are under severe challenge. We investigate the causes and repercussions of these problems, provide theoretical and empirical analyses of different institutions, and contribute to policy and public debates on reform.

    Notification

    Sign up to receive email notifications about GIGA activities

    Social Media

    Follow us

GIGA Talk

Der Weg zur engeren Zusammenarbeit mit Südkorea im indopazifischen Raum

Datum

01.12.2022

Beginn

09:00 Uhr (MEZ)

Ende

10:15 Uhr (MEZ)


  • Mit der südkoreanischen Regierung unter Präsident Yoon Suk-yeol, die den indopazifischen Raum immer stärker als strategischen Raum begreift, wird der Spielraum für eine engere Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Europäischen Union und Deutschland auf der einen Seite und der Republik Korea auf der anderen größer. Sowohl die EU als auch Deutschland haben umfassende Strategien für die Zusammenarbeit im indopazifischen Raum. Südkorea ist als eine der wenigen liberalen Demokratien in der Region und als Verfechter des Multilateralismus ein sehr geeigneter Partner dafür. Die Republik Korea ist außerdem die zehntgrößte Volkswirtschaft der Welt. Südkoreanische Unternehmen stellen Hightech-Produkte her, darunter fortschrittliche Halbleiter, was sie zu wichtigen Partnern bei der Suche nach resilienten Lieferketten macht.

    Dieser GIGA Talk stellt die Ergebnisse eines von der Korea Foundation geförderten gemeinsamen Forschungsprojekts „Engaging the Indo-Pacific: German and Korean Perspectives on Regional Cooperation“ zwischen dem GIGA und dem East Asia Institute in Seoul vor. Wir werden zunächst eine Bestandsaufnahme der Errungenschaften, insbesondere im wirtschaftlichen Bereich, vornehmen, auf denen eine engere Zusammenarbeit zwischen Seoul, Berlin und Brüssel im indopazifischen Raum und darüber hinaus aufbauen kann. Wir erörtern, wie im politischen und strategischen Bereich mehr getan werden kann, z.B. durch gemeinsame Anstrengungen zur Wiederbelebung des Multilateralismus und für einen intensiveren Austausch über regionale Sicherheitsfragen. Südkoreas zentrale Lage in der ostasiatischen Region, seine Allianz mit den Vereinigten Staaten und seine engen, aber ambivalenten Beziehungen zu China machen das Land zu einem besonders interessanten Partner in globalen und strategischen Fragen.

    Referenten: Prof. Dr. Patrick Köllner ist Vizepräsident des GIGA, Direktor des GIGA Instituts für Asien-Studien und Professor an der Universität Hamburg.

    Dr. Johannes Plagemann ist Research Fellow am GIGA Institut für Asien-Studien.

    Dr. Christian Wirth ist Research Fellow am GIGA Institut für Asien-Studien.

    Kommentatoren : Prof. Dr. Yul Sohn ist Präsident des East Asia Institute, Professor an der Yonsei-Universität und Berater des Außenministeriums in Seoul.

    Prof. Dr. Sook Jong Lee ist Präsident Emeritus sowie Senior Fellow des East Asia Institute und Professorin an der Sungkyunkwan Universität, Seoul.

    Prof. Dr. Chaesung Chun ist Vorsitzender des National Security Center des East Asia Institute, Professor an der Seoul National University und Berater des Außenministeriums in Seoul.

    Botschafter Dr. Martin Thümmel ist Beauftragter für Ostasien, Südostasien und den Pazifik im Auswärtigen Amt.

    Moderatorin: Prof. Dr. Heike Holbig ist Senior Research Fellow am GIGA Institut für Asien-Studien und Redakteurin des GIGA Focus Asien. Sie ist Chair für East Asian Politics an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main.


    Organisation

    Prof. Dr. Bert Hoffmann

    Lead Research Fellow / Leitung GIGA Berlin Büro Redaktion GIGA Focus Lateinamerika


    Anmeldung

    Wir möchten Sie bitten, sich für diese Veranstaltung anzumelden. Die Anmeldung ist kostenlos. Sie erhalten Ihren persönlichen Teilnahme-Link und weitere Informationen per E-Mail vor Beginn der Online-Veranstaltung. Sollten Sie diese E-Mail nicht unmittelbar vor der Veranstaltung erhalten (bitte überprüfen Sie auch Ihren Spam-Ordner), wenden Sie sich bitte an uns: events@giga-hamburg.de. Mit der Anmeldung erklären Sie sich mit den Datenschutzrichtlinien des GIGA einverstanden. Wir werden unsere Datenschutzhinweise bei Bedarf aktualisieren. Die aktuelle Version finden Sie unter: https://www.giga-hamburg.de/de/datenschutz/.

    Hier anmelden

    Wir bieten Ihnen unsere Veranstaltungen rein digital oder hybrid an. Dabei berücksichtigen wir stets die aktuelle Pandemie-Situation. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Teilnahme.

    Forschungsprojekt | 01.01.2022 - 31.12.2022

    Engaging the Indo-Pacific: German and Korean Perspectives on Regional Cooperation

    A policy-oriented research project bringing together the GIGA and the East Asia Institute in Seoul. The project aims at analysing German/EU and Korean strategies for Indo-Pacific engagement and identifying areas for in-depth consultation, coordination and cooperation.
    Korea Foundation, 2022

    Prof. Dr. Sook-Jong Lee

    Prof. Dr. Yul Sohn

    Prof. Dr. Chaesung Chun

    Vortragsreihe | 30.11.2022

    Franco-German Observatory of the Indo-Pacific

    Das Franco-German Observatory lädt Schlüsselakteure aus dem Indo-Pazifik ein, um Fragen strategischer Natur, der wirtschaftlichen Verflechtung sowie die Erwartungen der Länder des Indo-Pazifiks an den „Westen“ zu diskutieren. Nächster Vortrag von Hasan Alhasan.

    Multilateralismus

    Multilateralismus und globale Institutionen sind ernstlich in Frage gestellt. Wir untersuchen die Ursachen und Auswirkungen dieser Probleme, liefern theoretische und empirische Analysen verschiedener Institutionen und leisten einen Beitrag zu politischen und öffentlichen Debatten über Reformen.

    Benachrichtigungen

    Melden Sie sich hier für E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen zu GIGA-Aktivitäten an

    Soziale Medien

    Folgen Sie uns